Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My roomie is certain, that he has seen somewhere (perhaps in CSM codex), that both players have to agree on allowing special characters to be part of the game.
If one of the participating players say no, they aren't allowed and another HQ-choice must be made.
Is this correct? I haven't seen it mentioned in the rule book.
Thanks in advance.
That was in 4th edition. Now in 5th you can use characters in your codices. If they're not from your codex, then you need permission.
Just be careful of some of the older Codex's specifically stating that you need permission to field so an so.
Now while I play by all the rules I still see that a certain evolution has occurred within the core rules and if I acknowledge to my opponent that they can take special characters without permission then I would expect the same courtesy extended towards me.
To sum up RAW tells me 'depends' here whereas RAI tells me 'of course you can.'
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
Great news! Thanks for the answers. Then there should be no problem fielding "Carneus Malgar" in my army - just to piss him off
Can drop pods deep strike in all mission, even if the mission doesn't allow it? Most other units with deep strike ability has a note saying it can/can't be used in missions, that do not allow deep strike. But what about drop pods?
All 5th edition missions allow deep striking, but some older missions may still put a restriction on that. If you are playing one of those missions, you should follow it's specified rules. Some missions restrict deep strike for a good reason!
A small problem that may arise with those older missions is that there was no such thing as outflanking. My house rule has been that missions that forbid deep strike also forbid outflank, but you can decide what works best for your own games in that situation.
--•-My 40K projects-•--
all standrd missions allow deep strike now.
everyone may deep strike or infiltrate if they have the special rule allowing it.
"i am a leaf in the wind, see how i soar"
More great news!
I get the feeling I have to read the rulebook again hehe. And this time, more thoroughly!
Thanks for the answers guys!