Disembarking from Skimmers onto ruins? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member Burke888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    Disembarking from Skimmers onto ruins?

    Hey guys.
    In the Cities of Death book it mentions that a skimmer transport can not move to the upper floor of a city ruin and then have troops disembark.
    It does include a stratagem that allows this though.

    In the new 5th Edition rulebook, no mention is made of whether or not a transport skimmer can drop off troops at the top level of a city ruin.
    I was wondering what the real, true, tournament rule would be?

    Thanks!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Airborne Mastershake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,664
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    479 (x8)

    cities of death is an optional set of additional rules. unless the tournament rules say otherwise, you don't use them.

    Back to the original question, you can drop troops off wherever you want as long as you don't move flat out, but remember if you end your move over terrain to take a dangerous terrain check.
    Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009

  4. #3
    jy2
    jy2 is offline
    Hive Fleet Pandora jy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    797 (x8)

    I believe as long as the vehicle can actually be placed on top of the terrain, then it can land there and the troops may disembark because it needs to set down on the table at the end of its move.

    It does need to take dangerous terrain test though, since ruins usually count as difficult or dangerous terrain.

  5. #4
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    A skimmer is where it is physically on the table. Whatever level it's at, they will get off into. You cannot just say 'it's flying at the height of level X' if that's not where the model is.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Age
    43
    Posts
    410
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x1)

    Can a skimmer pull up beside a building that has two levels and its troops disembark on the second floor?

    I am asking because when the skimmer is on its base and is sitting by the building, it seems like a viable option. I am not sure if its against the rules or not. I just thought of it as I was reading this thread.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Age
    26
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x1)

    I would have to say no to disembarking on the second level. A model must disembark within 2" inches of the hatch (which is is walking/running out of). In the ruins section of the book you count each level as 3" of movement which is obviously farther.

  8. #7
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Ivallios View Post
    I would have to say no to disembarking on the second level. A model must disembark within 2" inches of the hatch (which is is walking/running out of). In the ruins section of the book you count each level as 3" of movement which is obviously farther.
    But when the hatch is 3" high due to the Skimmer base, this question comes up.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Age
    26
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x1)

    But when the hatch is 3" high due to the Skimmer base, this question comes up.
    But then you could never land anywhere but the second floor seeing as you are now farther then 2 inches from the ground.

  10. #9
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Ivallios View Post
    But then you could never land anywhere but the second floor seeing as you are now farther then 2 inches from the ground.
    If the top of the disembarked model is still within 2" of the hatch, it is still legally disembarked "to the ground". So its entirely possible to have options.

    Remember its not about moving 2", it about being within 2".
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Age
    43
    Posts
    410
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x1)

    I can imagine how a skimmer pulls up by a building and the ramp lowers down so that it forms a bridge to a window allowing the troops to run across into the building onto the second floor.

    You could feasibly stick troops on the upper and lower floor of the building in this manner.

    I have some Imperial City buildings at home and I will test this out and see how it matches up.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts