Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So, an interesting situation came up in a game I had this weekend where my opponent and I disagreed on a rule. We ended up 4-plussing it and I lost.
Anyway, he had two squads in CC with my SG, with one unit on each side. I charged one of the units with a squad of Bloodletters, wiping them out. Now, at this point, I was not in b2b with his second unit, although I was within 6". Should I have piled into his second unit at this point or just made a consolidation move?
His argument was that while that combat was a multiple combat, the bloodletters were only in combat with the one unit, so they should simply consolidate.
My argument was that a multiple combat is always a multiple combat. By charging one of the involved units, I was effectively in combat with all opponents involved, so I should pile into the other squad, even though I was unable to reach them with my charge move and was not yet in b2b (pre pile-in).
I would especially appreciate links to related threads or rules references. We couldn't quickly find anything that made the matter explicitly clear, so I would like to be able to do so the next time this comes up.
I read through the rule book and I have to side with you. In the last part of assaults (ASSAULT RESULTS PG. 41) When there are multiple combats you fight and total the wounds among all units in the assault on the losing side. Then any unit NOT locked in combat makes sweeping advances. This seems like it favors your friend until the next part. "after assault resolution, all units that were involved in the multiple combat must make pile-in moves towards enemies that found in that combat". That pretty much sums up your all multiple combats are Multiple combats.
If it was a multiple combat, then you should have piled in. Yeah, I agree you were right.
Yep, you were correct. Ivallios has already quoted the piece which I was going to refer you to. The conjoining factor was your Soulgrinder being in CC with both of his units. As soon as you assaulted one of those units with your Bloodletters, you effectively became involved in the whole fight regardless of being in BtB with his more distant unit or not.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"