Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I believe that a squadron counts an immobilized vehicle as destroyed.
What about when wargear or abilities within that squadron allows the repair of an immobilized result (e.g. grot riggers)?
I would think that a rule of 'so long as the squadron maintains unit coherency the immobilized vehicle remains in play' would be sensible.
Has this come up before, has the rule been clarified?
So far as I know, the vehicle goes straight to destroyed, not via an Immobilized result. It's the big downside to the new squadrons, so I rather highly doubt that things like Grot Riggers or a nearby Techmarine should be able to bypass it without a specific special rule.
I could agree with seperate models (ie techmarines, mekboyz etc) not being able to repair as they are separate
Grot riggers are wargear of the vehicle (not a separate entity) it would seem dumb to allow them to be bought in the first place if you cannot use them.
Ah, I see. Well, while I see where you're coming from, I'm staying with the destroyed option. Grot Riggers may have simply become partially obsolete (for squadrons, still work on solo tanks) thanks to 5th edition rules. It wouldn't be the first example, and certainly won't be the last.
Actually if your fire at a vehicle squadron and there is only one left, the modified damage result ceases to apply, so grot riggers could still benefit the last vehicle assuming they don't just drop em all in one salvo.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
I suppose working within the framework of the rules would mean you'd buy 1x grot riggers and when your unit gets down to a single unit it can start to use them (because it reverts to normal vehicle rules).
That's a 10 point saving
Seeing the squadron's owner gets to assign damage and remove models the last one will always be the one with riggers.
The squadron's owner assigns the damage before the damage results are rolled. e.g., if you suffer three penetrating hits and have three models, you put one on each before the rolls on the vehicle damage table are made.
ok that makes sense.
so you either end up paying for every unit to have them so one of the units can use it, or take the risk and pay for only one.
wow, squadrons really suck