Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Couldn't really find a clear answer on this in the book(unless I'm missing it) or in the search function, so I'll give it a go here.
Last week I was playing a game of Space Marines vs Tyranids. I deep striked my Terminators in. When it was his turn, on his assault phase he wanted to assault my Terminators with his Hormagaunts, but at the same time he wanted to also assault them with his Warriors.
Looking through the book I'm a bit confused on how this works exactly. Is he supposed to move his Hormagaunts into contact with me, and then have me do the defender react part, and then he moves in with Warriors? And then I react again? And then figure out initiative and who can fight from there?
Or are we supposed to duke the whole thing out in close combat with the Hormaguant first, and then when that's finished(whatever ever the results maybe), do it all over again with the warriors.
I'm familiar with how multiple combat works, and which unit can attack what based on base contact since I usually have my commander join squad, but this just seems different to me since they are two completely different units, and not a independent character attacking with a squad. Or perhaps I'm just being silly?
The way it works is pretty simple. The attacker declares his assault with his hormagaunts. He moves them, per the rules for assaults in the rulebook. He then declares an assault with his warriors. As long as there's still enough room / distance for at least one of the warriors to get into base to base contact, they move as well. Once the attacker has declared all assaults and moved everything into base to base as much as possible, then you get the 'defenders react' move, which allows you to move anything that is not already in base contact with an enemy into up to 6" to get into base contact. If everything is already in base combat due to large numbers of assaulting units, then you don't get to move anything as a reaction.
Ah, I see. Yeah it makes more sense when you look at the Assault Phase Summary chart, as opposed to trying to re read the section over and over. Thanks a lot for the help.