Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Good day to you all, my fellow carnage enthusiasts!
I am shooting with a sister squad (8bolters, flamer, heavy flamer) into a squad of warriors that are behind gaunts. My opponent told me that flamer templates have to have as many models of a unit I am actually firing at under the template, and have to make sure that I hit more models of the unit I am firing at than the unit I accidentally hit. I did not find any such notion in a rulebook, it states that I only have to hit as many models as possible inside the unit I am firing at (SRB P29 right column).
I have a Callidus assassin fires secondary into a squad of gaunts with intention to hit biovores. I intend to hit biovores and make sure to assault them. However my opponent insists that I cannot target biovores because I would have more gaunts under the template than the biovores.
If you could share your exquisit knowledge of the rulebook with me on the situations described above I would greatly appreciate it.
From what I understand you nominate which squad you want to shoot at, and hit as many as possible. After this, you may assault THAT unit.
Any models hit by the template or in assault but part of another unit are still hit as usual, but it does NOT reduce your choices in anyway. (as long as you don't hit any of your own models with the template)
The only limitations to flamer templates are that you can't hit your own units, and IF you are attacking a vehicle, the template must be positioned so that you cover as much of the vehicle as possible. You CAN shoot a flamer into a unit, barely hit a mini in that unit, and "accidentaly" hit several minis from another unit.
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.
However, if you have to go through the gaunts in order to assault the biovores (i.e. they're blocking your assault path), then you cannot assault the biovores. And if you declared you were shooting at the biovores and the gaunts are blocking your path, then you cannot assault the gaunts either.
Last edited by jy2; May 7th, 2009 at 17:17.
Your opponent's rules seem to come from the 'I made it up' section in the back of the book. As some general sisters tactics, (sorry rules forum) you can steer your flamers to hit multiple squads. It's pretty easy to boltgun one squad and flamer another. Put the flamers in the 'second row' of your formation and steer them with friendly models in front so that the only legal template placement just clips a single model in the 'target' unit and overlaps the secondary target.