Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So I have read the rulebook, checked the faq and searched the forum but found no direct reference.
Example: a warp spider firea its deathspinner to the back of a leman russ and manages to inflict a glancing hit.
When he rolls on the penetration table he manages to roll a 3, meaning that the final value after glancing and -AP comes up 0.
In my group we have been taking this to mean that the vehicle suffers a shaken result anyway. I'm almost sure we are doing this wrong but the other members believe that you already roll to hit and roll to damage, then take the cover save that you cause some sort of damage.
What are your opinions on this?
personally if a shot goes down to 0 on the damage chart I would assume the shot to of just bounced off and done no damage at all to the tank, while the crew laugh and proceed to vaporise shooting enemy
The top entry on the Vehicle Damage Table on page 61 is "1 or less".
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.
You count any modified result of 0 or below as 1. If you have to roll on the vehicle damage table, at a minimum you will inflict a crew shaken result. That means that even with an AP- weapon, if you roll a glancing hit, at the minimum you will inflict a crew shaken result. The modifier basically just makes it more difficult/impossible to cause a serious damage result (weapon destroyed or greater)
Even with a AP- weapon, you could think of the bullet/lasgun light ricocheting around or blinding the weapon operator. Even if you are in a tank, if a shot hits you in a certain way, you will take notice and find some cover. (if that one shot found you, just think what else could be coming)
This is the way it's been since third edition, how does it not make sense? BTW, you're looking at the SUMMARY charts. They aren't all-inclusive, otherwise you wouldn't need the rest of the rulebook. If the summary and any other part of the book disagree, the summary is wrong.That wouldn't make any sense because then every single glancing hit would cause crew shaken at a minimum.
But in case you want to stop making an ass of yourself, pg. 61 the VEHICLE DAMAGE TABLE BOX you'll note it VERY clearly states "1 or less Crew - Shaken" and "6 or more Destroyed - Explodes!'
Last edited by Mastershake; May 13th, 2009 at 06:03.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
How closely does the AOBR mini rule book match pages with the real rule book? Could he and his gaming group be using the AOBR book which isnt as clear? I've never flipped through the AOBR mini rule book so I dont know how close it matches the big book. It wouldnt do to be spouting out these rules from the main book but the book he is using not have the same table or a different page so he completely ignores the truth we are telling him. (I figure he is using AOBR book because page 110 in the main book is artwork)
The AOBR book contains the entire rule section of the main rule book. so they are the same just less the fluff.
Whe reading the rules, make sure you read the content of the rule, the tables / summary at the back of the rule book give you a brief summary of the rule but not the detail.
We have both of them and as far as I am aware both the AoBR Rulebook and the Big Rule book are identical in respects to the rules, right down to the page numbers.
Thank you for clearing that up Moglun. I am glad to get rid of that nagging feeling. Felt like I was cheating the system by getting all those crew shaken results.