Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The description for the Valkryie is kind of vague. It just says that it can transport 12 and cannot carry Ogryns. Now if I were to get Grey Knight Terminator allies, would you say I could transport a whole unit of 10?
Yes, there is no exclusion for terminators in any of the IG vehicles. It's a little disturbing really that GK termies can get off a first turn charge when allied with IG.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
For some reason I recall terminators counting as 2 models for transports, saw a small note about Inquisitors in termie armor counting as 2 but nothing for the GK termies. But if there is no restriction on the transport then go for it. This means that they could also ride in an IG chimera but not an Inquisitorial stormtroopers chimera which makes little sense.
( I can only hope that if/when they get around to redoing DH and WH they get rid of the allies way to many ways to twist multiple codex and so many questions ).
I wouldn't be so cheesy as to put 10 termies in a chimera....maybe 9 but not 10!
Anyways, until they get FAQ'd, I think we're gonna see some power gamers take advantage of this. Imagine 4 valks/vends: 1x10 GKT's, 2x10 GK's, 1xCCS w/Straken. Expensive but devastating.
In the spirit of the game, I'm inclined to say that a Valkyrie can't carry Termies or Ogryns - they didn't mention it because Termies aren't an IG option, but I think it's obvious that the intent is there...
Having said my part though, there really isn't any reason you couldn't do it - no rules about it at all!
Uhg, this is gonna be one of those painful as hell things that starts nerd slapfights at the tournaments. And because GWS are a bunch of sickos, and probably sell the hidden camera footage, they'll never FAQ it.
If a tournament allowed it, I'd be forced to accept it, I wouldn't agree with it at all, but I'd accept it.
In a friendly game, I'd call shenanagans and not allow it.
Yes, I did deep-strike your sister...
Necrons : W-8 D-3 L-7 (Sleeping in their TombFoam, waiting for a new codex)
Chaos Forces (CSM/CD): W-42 D-19 L-28
Apocalypse Games : W-4 D-0 L-1 (4 Titans, Brass Scorp, 3 Baneblades, 2 Bombers, 3 Fighters, and a Partrage in a Pear Tree)
Pretty well says it for me, I would say >>IF<< someone was to try and do that, I would limit them to 5, as traditionally Termis do take up 2 slots, would make virtually no sense for a Valk to cary 10, but a Land Raider only hold 5. Thats saying I let them take any in the 1st place. I personaly cannot stand GKs or Inquisition (Sisters are fine).
My conclusion... Valkyries are magic and can carry anything
Next thing you know they will be saying Vendettas can transport Ogryns because the Codex clearly says Valkaries cannot transport ogryns, but doesn’t say anything about a vendetta.
Yeah they need a FAQ quick, until then any "power gaming" I see using the poor wording of the IG book will get them a nice zero comp and sportsmanship.
From the Rulebook, page 66, transport capacity, "each Space Marine Terminator counts as two models". But you don't even need this rule:
From the Space Marines: Space Wolfs codex, under the Wolf Guard bodyguard entry, transport vehicles: "Wolf Guards in Terminator Armor may only ride in a Land Raider". A Valkyrie is not a Land Raider, and so it is not a valid transport choice for termies.
Necron Army Building Maxima: Beware of Phase Out