Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Now before people go off on one or anything here I go to explain the deal.
I will be taking part in a doubles tournament soon with a friend of mine. In this tournament it allows nids and guard to work together (supposedly as a genestealers cult). So I was wondering if I could transport some nids say genestealers in a valkyie.
No, the seat-belts won't fit them and they'll be killed when the pilot attempts any high G manueveres.
Rules-wise.... Beats me. Probably, but it would seem a little odd.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
Are the Nids friendly models? Check.
Are Genestealers classed as infantry? Check.
So yes, you could technically embark Genestealers in Imperial vehicles.
Seems kinda awkward. Are they considered to be the one army or two seperate armies? In case one, yeah, you could probably explain it reasonably. Otherwise it'd be kinda iffy. And in a tournament you really dont want iffy. I suppose in a genestealer cult anything could happen, so yeah, fluff wise it makes sense.
yer it is awkward, they count as one army for force organisation, but at the same time there are rules such as distrusted allies where -1 LD in 6", the word allies there what is making me question this. However I do believe that it would be ok as fluff wise is the guard in the valk think there transporting men or what ever why wouldn't they. Also rule wise genestealers are both infantry and count as friendly troops.
Thanks for the help everyone i might just try this out, or just check with the tournament organisers first lol. Keep comments coming though.
I would say no. Check out the Warhammer 40K updated FAQ. Basically, in essence, it says that unless the item/special rule says something like 'friend or foe', it is 'recommended' that you cannot use/gain the benefits from any of the wargear/special rules.
your best bet would be to ask the tournament organizers and explain what you want to do, wether its on the day or before hand then their word is final, so to avoid any upsets on the day then its better to ask before hand.
Fluff wise: aslong as it was a genestealer cult like in lomas on ichar IV then you should be ok, but beingable to outflank a set of stealers in a transport is a bit harsh and the fact they could use the gravshute rule would be a bit harsh, especailly if it was a vendetta
The only person who can answer the question is your tournament organiser. There are no rules for doubles play other than what they give you!
The "allies in transport vehicle" rule is, iirc, only in Apocalypse (it's also the only way you can get multiple squads in one vehicle) - in standard 40k you can only transport your own units.
Although as has already been said there may be exceptions depending on the whim of your organiser.