Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi there, an issue has come up in discussion which the BRB doesn't help with very well. Any ideas
I land my ironclad in drop pod on turn 1 like so
I fire my melta at the tank. Can I also fire my heavy flamer "at the tank" but, dear oh deary me it doesn't reach but the template covers several models in the infantry squad.
Can I do that?
I've been pouring over the rulebook for an answer, and was unable to find a decisive ruling.
I would most likely play it, as the heavy flamer did not reach its intended target, then you are unable to follow the part of the rule, "that you must cover as much of the vehicle as possible"(pg 29, BRB ) In this case I would count the flamer as missing completely not hitting anything as you were unsuccessful in placing the template.
With any other quotes of pages, I'd be glad to be persuaded.
Cool idea, but I don't think it would work. Some may disagree, but here are my thoughts:
P. 17, Check Range: "A model that is found to be out of range... misses automatically".
P. 29, Templates: Range 'Template'.
So a template weapon has a range of 'template', and if the target is out of that range then the shot misses automatically and is discounted.
EDIT: Regarding 'cover as much of the vehicle/unit as possible', I don't believe this would be a problem because 'as much as possible' could very well be none at all.
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.
Its problematic isn't it?
this is one possible suggestion I've heardPerhaps the trouble here is that there are two different definitions of "target" that are in play here. The "intended target" of the weapon is the tank. The infantry models are "incidental targets". The template must be pointed in the direction of its "intended target"; then for every model on the board, if the model is out of range of the template then the template misses it (obviously this is not a necessary condition for the template to miss the model!), and therefore it is not an incidental target.
If all else fails, apply the common sense interpretation. Are the infantrymen hit by the gout of flame directed at the vehicle behind them? Of course they are.
i think that thats is really cheap to do, but also really cheap to say it wouldnt hit the guys infront...that just doesnt make any sense at all...oh GW rules...
If you were playing against me, I would allow it. It makes sense to me that it would hit them.
As for your other opponants? I don't know. The current claims in this topic seem to do a decent job of saying no. So its likely you will have to fallow that one.
If the tank WAS in range then yes, they would get hit as well, because there is no way to deny that you wouldn't have been firing it. (if the tank was a Land Raider and you shot, then it could be interpreted as a cheap move since the flamer wont do anything, but personally, I would still allow it)
The Dreadnought lowers its' flamethrower then realizes the intended target is too far, so not wanting to barbecue the wrong traitors it puts the weapon away
Very stupid mind you, but Moglun is correct and that is how it works. Kinda like one of your guys shooting through an enemy unit and saying "Awww crap, the wrong enemy is in my sights, I'd better not fire" *grumbles about 5th ed cover save system*
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
I thought as much, in my club we've more or less reached a consensus about it being legal but within reason, obviously it would be ridiculous to fire a lascannon at 40" and flame the guys in front but if its reasonable, in friendly games its hard to see why not
Look at it from this perspective.
A dreadnought has a Missile Launcher and Assault cannon and is firing at a tank 36" away. At about 1.01" away from the dread directly in the path between the dread and tank is an enemy unit. Since the tank is out of the AC's range, can you claim it to incidentallly hit the enemy unit? It's only 1.01" away? Absurd as it is, you can't because the rules say it will automatically miss. This ridiculous principal would also apply to the heavy flamer because, unfortunately, them's da rules. But if your opponent lets you do it, then hey, what the heck. He's probably got more heavy flamers than you do.
Last edited by jy2; May 19th, 2009 at 02:08.