Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
OK, so, the new thing with the Guard is this Combined Squads rule that allows you to lump two or more Infantry Squads into one big one. In all the bumf I've seen from GW, a combined squad of 20 Guardsmen who recieve the FRFSRF Order will get 40 lasgun shots at targets up to 24" away if they haven't moved, and 60 shots at targets up to 12" away wether they've moved or not.
What I want to know is, how is that possible when the Combined Squad of 20 models only has 18 models with lasguns in it? Am I missing something here? The way I understand it, Combining Squads is done at deployment; therefore, the squads you wish to combine must already have been selected from the Infantry Squad Army List entry in the Codex. That entry states that an Infantry Squad is composed of 9 Guardsmen and a Sergeant; the Guardsmen all have lasguns, and the Sergeant has a laspistol and CCW. Ergo, two Infantry Squads selected from the Army List and Combined into a single Infantry Squad will consist of two Sergeants and 18 Guardsmen, and since the Sergeants don't have lasguns they don't benefit from the extra shot granted by FRFSRF, which explicitly states it only affects "models firing a lasgun". You can't drop the Sergeants because they are a required part of the Infantry Squad, and if memory serves they have no option to take a lasgun, so where are the extra shots coming from?
Is this another case of sloppy silliness on the part of the designers which will necessitate an FAQ, or is there something I'm missing?
It appears to be the result of bad editing or bad math. They've just illustrated an illegal example most likely because the author himself forgot that the sergeants had laspistols. Anyways I don't think it needs a FAQ. I believe you should follow what is in the rules over what is in the example (if they contradict).
As my friend has been doing it, he doesn't add the 2 sergeants, which is what I would assume is how it is supposed to go.
Do you mean that GW says 60 shots on the website? I have not seen this as I don't look at the IG section.
If its the website saying that, I would think that the person typing it up on the site wasn't paying 100% attention. Especially because 40 shots at 24" is impossible, as the las-pistols don't even have the range for that.
I would say to just ignore the website(Unless its a FAQ or something). It isn't perfect.
remember the summary sheet in the back of the old IG dex with the AV13 hellhounds? Yeah, it's kinda like that, a mistake, they are human (or are they?)
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
Maybe it was originally a combined squad of 30 guardsmen that had three sergeants and 7 guardsmen killed... betcha didn't consider that!