Monolith and summoning fleeing units - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    Monolith and summoning fleeing units

    There's a game going on in the next room and we've run in to a problem we can't seem to find an answer to. The orks sent a unit of necron warriors fleeing from close combat the necron player now wants to summon them to the Monolith so he can reroll the WWBB rolls. What we can't work out is if the unit still counts as fleeing when it reappears, no where in the rules dose it say they don't so the ork player is arguing that they are. Logic seems to dictate that since they where in effect removed from the table and deep striked back in that they in effect ran away and came back so they won't be fleeing any more.

    That's what we've agreed on for now but i'm wondering what the rules are in this matter. Now i think about it do you have to move fleeing units first? since if you have to then they can't be summoned anyway and the point is, well, pointless.

    Anyway, any help clearing this up would be very useful since i can't find anything on this while searching. Which makes me think that you can't summon the units that are fleeing at all.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    jy2
    jy2 is offline
    Hive Fleet Pandora jy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    797 (x8)

    You still have to take a Leadership test to regroup and have to follow all the rules for regrouping. Thus if your squad is at less than 50%, then you cannot regroup and continue to fall back. However, if the WBB roll from going through the Mono should bring back to 50% or more, then you can try to regroup. Going through the Mono is not Deepstriking. It is considered as disembarking from a transport.

  4. #3
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    There does not appear to be anything in the Monolith Portal's rules which specifically states that the Necron player cannot perform this trick with the Portal, even if the Necron unit is falling back.

    As jy2 has already mentioned the rules involved with falling back/unit strength etc, there's no need to reiterate them.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    Thank you for clearing that up, having it regroup units that are falling back would be a bit much really. Still useful in that you can maybe bring up a unit to half strength who would have otherwise just run off the table.

  6. #5
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    It is also novel from a tactical standpoint in that if you move the monolith before portaling, the disembarking squad can't move, so won't make a fallback move that turn. Could be rather significant given KP aren't awarded for falling back units that are still on the table.

  7. #6
    jy2
    jy2 is offline
    Hive Fleet Pandora jy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    797 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by InquisitorAffe View Post
    It is also novel from a tactical standpoint in that if you move the monolith before portaling, the disembarking squad can't move, so won't make a fallback move that turn. Could be rather significant given KP aren't awarded for falling back units that are still on the table.
    Actually, they are counted as KP's (under BRB Ending the Game p. 9O).

  8. #7
    The Future realitycheque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,848
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    403 (x8)

    I can see I'm going to have to read up on this Monolith before I fight our local Necron player... when does the Portal thing kick in? Before the movement phase? I was under the impression that falling back units move before anything else, although that might be a holdover from an old version of 40k...
    My Deathwatch Campaign
    Furious Angels: (SM) W22, D1, L9 (BA) W15, D0, L3 | Sentinels of Saphery (HE) W3, D0, L0

  9. #8
    3 Getrudes Frank Fugger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,710
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    235 (x6)

    Quote Originally Posted by InquisitorAffe View Post
    It is also novel from a tactical standpoint in that if you move the monolith before portaling, the disembarking squad can't move, so won't make a fallback move that turn. Could be rather significant given KP aren't awarded for falling back units that are still on the table.
    Actually, they always count as having emerged from a stationary transport regardless of wether the Monolith moved or not.

    Quote Originally Posted by realitycheque View Post
    when does the Portal thing kick in?
    It's used in the Movement phase instead of firing the Particle Whip; basically, if he has reserves and they're eligible to enter he HAS to bring them into play via the Portal, and if not then he can teleport certain units that are within 18" of the hull to the Monolith where they disembark from the portal, and any models from those units which failed that turn's WBB roll can make another atempt.

    The falling back units do indeed move before anything else, since they make their regrouping checks at the start of the Movement phase. That said there's nothing stopping a Necron player from continually teleporting a Falling Back unit to the portal in order to keep them from leaving the board, as long as they remain within 18" of the Monolith at all times and don't run off the board before he has a chance to teleport them. They wouldn't automatically regroup and it doesn't allow them to retest to regroup (unless it was the turn after they Broke and they had enough eligible models pass their extra WBB rolls to take them over 50%), but they'd be further away from the board edge.

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    454
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    61 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by Frank Fugger View Post
    Actually, they always count as having emerged from a stationary transport regardless of wether the Monolith moved or not.
    That's in the oldest version of the codex, the current printing states they count as having moved if either the unit or the monolith had already moved.



    The falling back units do indeed move before anything else, since they make their regrouping checks at the start of the Movement phase. That said there's nothing stopping a Necron player from continually teleporting a Falling Back unit to the portal in order to keep them from leaving the board, as long as they remain within 18" of the Monolith at all times and don't run off the board before he has a chance to teleport them. They wouldn't automatically regroup and it doesn't allow them to retest to regroup (unless it was the turn after they Broke and they had enough eligible models pass their extra WBB rolls to take them over 50%), but they'd be further away from the board edge.
    That is definitely possible, but I'm curious why you would? It seems like an awful waste of a particle whip on a unit that's already a kill point.

  11. #10
    3 Getrudes Frank Fugger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,710
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    235 (x6)

    Quote Originally Posted by Deris87 View Post
    That's in the oldest version of the codex, the current printing states they count as having moved if either the unit or the monolith had already moved.
    Fair enough. It still wouldn't matter though, since the unit would have made it's fall back move at the start of the Movement phase.

    That is definitely possible, but I'm curious why you would? It seems like an awful waste of a particle whip on a unit that's already a kill point.
    Because they can potentially be rescued from Kill Point status by virtue of having WBBing Warriors join them.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts