Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The 2009 Rulebook FAQ states that a unit may go to ground when attacked by the lash, but no benefit would be gained (since you don't get a save against the lash)
However - the Chaos FAQ states that 'the move is executed exactly like a normal move' - followed by the statement that a unit cannot be moved by the lash if it has been pinned (i.e. by another lash attack).
So - if a unit goes to ground they can no longer move - the chaos Q/A suggests that they arn't going anywhere.
Is this correct?
Last edited by A.T.; May 28th, 2009 at 15:37.
I think the exact reason they added that line to the FAQ was because people were trying to make their units go to ground to avoid having them moved by the Lash. That's why it says, quite categorically, that going to ground to avoid the effects of Lash Of Submission is pointless.
In other words, no. Your unit still has to move if it goes to ground when it gets Lashed. The reference to it being executed exactly like a normal move refers to the method of movement; i.e, you can't Lash an Infantry movement onto the top of a 12" tall piece of impassible terrain and Jump Infantry will ignore difficult terrain if none of the models start or end the Lash move in it.
Psst, going to ground stops a unit doing "anything of it's own volition" - but since lash isn't a voluntary action on the targetted unit, they would still be moved even if the FAQ didn't explicitly say so.
Going to Ground, after/during being lashed, really only effects the second lash. I believe this to be the main reason it was FAQed.
1st lash, unit is moved, and selects going to ground. 2nd lash is unable to target a pinned unit.
To stop units from being lashed twice into something nasty. Going to ground after the first one, would stop the second lash from continuing the force move.
So a pinned unit stays where it is, but a unit 'gone to ground' gets up, moves, and then goes to ground again at the end of it ?
Curious, but fair enough.
edit : xpyre35 - that really was the question though, does going to ground at any point before the lash move have any effect due to the units inability to move normally, consensus seems to say not.
Last edited by A.T.; May 28th, 2009 at 17:16.
Pinned and Going to Ground are synonymous.
Going to ground is a reaction of the target squad after being fired upon. Being the target of a Lash, allows you to go to ground at that point, (increasing your cover save, and rendering you 'pinned'), but it doesn't stop the lash from working.
If a unit is already Pinned ( Gone to Ground ), Another Lash will be unable to target them.
So, you cannot use 'Going to Ground' to avoid the first Lash attack, but if you choose to 'Go to Ground' during the first Lash. Then any subsequent Lashes will be avoided.
First, IIRC, you can only "go to ground" in response to an enemy action / damage. You cannot go to ground in your own turn just because you would like to.
Anyway, I don't believe it matters. The 40k rulebook FAQ came out after the CSM FAQ. It has a completely different ruling on lash and going to ground / pinning. It states that going to ground (which occurs before the result of the shooting attack is applied) does not stop lash from affecting your unit. This would mean that the unit would still be able to be moved by a subsequent lash. And when two different rules sources talk about the same specific question, the latest one wins.
Also remember that the Chaos FAQ was written in 4th edition where being pinned was very different.
It IS self-inflicted Pinning, because once a unit goes to ground it's stuck there until the end of the next turn, but you can only do it in response to enemy shooting. If you do it voluntarily it's supposed to represent the unit taking cover under heavy fire, and you don't generally do that unless you're under heavy fire.
The Lash thing is an exception; according to the rulebook FAQ you can go to ground when targetted by psyhic shooting attacks that cause no wounds or damage, but it's pointless as you don't get a save against them.