Lictors, Deep Strike, and Mishaps - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Lictors, Deep Strike, and Mishaps

Hey All,

I am new here, so please forgive me if I am asking this question in the wrong place. (Would under the Army Section be better?)

Basically, I am new to Warhammer 40k and just recently picked up a Rulebook (5th Edition) and a Tyranid Codex. Having taken the time to read over the Tyranid codex and the first half of the rule book, I am slowly getting a feel for the game. Haven't bought any models yet, but I will soon.

However, I had numerous questions regarding Lictors and their "Secret Deployment" rules.

In the Tyranid Codex it states that Lictors enter battle using the deep strike rule with some modifications. So far so good. Here are the special rules:

First off, they must deep strike into a piece of area terrain. As I understand it, area terrain is any piece of terrain that has a clearly defined edge. Is that right? So it could be a hill, or a cluster of trees.

Secondly, they may deploy in impassible terrain, which doesn't cause a mishap.

Thirdly, a Lictor can scatter upon deploying, but never outside the boundaries of the area terrain to which he is assigned.

And lastly, the Lictor can assault the turn it enters play.

Here are my questions:

- Is area terrain always difficult terrain? If so, this raises the second question. (Below)