Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can somebody please clarify as to whether a Grand Master's NFW causes instant death against a model with the Eternal Warrior USR or not?
I have an upcoming game against chaos coming up and i would appreciate it if this rule could be clarified so as to avoid arguments on the day?
Last edited by SHREDHED; June 10th, 2009 at 15:17.
I don't own the Grey Knight book, but I remember from reading other threads recently that the rules for the Nemesis Force weapon use their own separate rules and not the Instant Death rule from the main rulebook. If that is the case, then the NFW will ignore the Eternal Warrior rule.
That's just from memory though, I'd like someone with the Grey Knight book to confirm it.
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group
A normal force weapon (i.e a FW whose COdex description references the core rulebook) inflicts one-hit kills by using the Instant Death "special rule". Eternal Warrior makes a character immune to Instant Death, and as such they will never be subject to the Instant Death game mechanic for any reason.
The Grandmaster's Nemesis Force Weapon (which counts as a force weapon according to the DH armoury), and by extension force weapons carried by Inquisitors or Lords from either =][= Codex, can kill characters with the Eternal Warrior rule in a single hit because the force weapons in those Codexes don't inflict Instant Death. Both Codexes are relics from the 3rd Edition of the game, before wargear and special rules were standardised in the core rulebook, and as such both contain stand-alone definitions of what a Force Weapon is and how it works. Because the rules in an army's Codex take precedence over the rules in the core rulebook, you have to use the force weapons in your Daemonhunters army as they're described in the Daemonhunters' Codex; and fortunately for you, that means yours don't inflict Instant Death on a model that suffers an unsaved wound. They slay the model outright; and Eternal Warrior doesn't grant immunity from being slain outright, only from being insta-killed by Intant Death.
GW has had several years to FAQ his particular idiosyncracy out of the game, along with various other 3rd Ed idiosyncracies that the =][= armies have (extra armour still costs 5pts for them, SS's suck, DH smoke launchers downgrade Penetrating hits to Glancing, etc etc), and they've never done it. They've had numerous emails on the subject and their only response thus far is "Codex trumps rulebook". Basically GW don't seem to care much that an 85pt S3 Inquisitor Lord can potentially insta-pwn 240+ points of Black Legion leader, and thus neither should you.
Be aware that this, along with various other idiosyncrasies of the Daemonhunters codex, will annoy your opponents. That's fine. A bit of persistence on your part will set them straight. If they kick up a stink, tell them to email GW and demand they FAQ it; that'll get the nowhere, because DH players have been doing it for years regarding this and myriad other issues, and all they say is "Codex trumps rulebook".
If they continue to piss and moan, simply turn up to every games night with at least three Land Raiders (a 2000pt list with 6 of them is possible ).
I couldn't have put it better myself.
The main upside of the outdated NSF and retinue is that the grand master of the Ordo Malleus doesn't get his ass handed to him by every greater daemon and daemonically infused warrior he runs into.
From your post in the DH forum about Abaddon :
Take the sacred incense, good odds that GKT who survive Abby's attacks will get to strike before his bodyguard finish them off - you'll need to consider that Abaddon's initial attacks could easily kill his cost in GKT, even with an instakill weapon you might be sacrificing most / all of the unit to get him (depending on his bodyguard)