Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
On Disruption Pods and Barrage Weapons
I have seen this question go around and I thought I should give an answer (and have discussion so that...hopefully...a result can be reached)
So: Q: Do you get the cover save from Disruption Pods when you are hit with a Barrage Weapon.
A: Lets see:
Disruption pods: "Weapons firing at the Vehicle from more than 12" distance count the vehicle as an Obscured Target" (p30 Tau Codex)
Obscured Target: "If a special rule or A PIECE OF WARGEAR confers to a vehicle the ability of being obscured even if in the open, THIS IS A 4+ COVER SAVE, unless specified otherwise in the Codex" (p62 5th edition rules)
Barrage: "To determine if a unit wounded by a barrage weapon is allowed a cover save, ALWAYS ASSUME THE SHOT IS COMMING FROM THE CENTER OF THE MARKER, INSTEAD OF FROM THE FIRING MODEL." (p32 5th edition rules)
so, lets work through this. Disruption pods make the vehicle an obscured target if the weapon is more than 12" away.
an obscured target IS a cover save, and therefore against barrage weapons the shot is comming from the center of the marker. Since the large blast marker is 2.5" between the center and the farthest distance away, the vehicle never gets the cover save.
ALSO, a fluff reason: Disruption pods "throw out distorting images in both visual and magnetic spectra, making it ard to target at range" (p30 Tau Codex) Barrage weapons are fired without line of sight. So its a guess shot. the people (or things) firing the weapon are not fooled by the disruption pods, because they can't see what they are firing at to begin with.
The tank should get a save. Is it in cover from the Barrage Weapon? Nope, not at all. Does that matter? Nope, not at all. It has the Obscured rule, which gives it a save, regardless of whether or not it is in cover.
The direction of the shot is not the distance travelled. The shot came more then likely over 12 inches regardless of what direction it came which is what the hole in the center refers to. That is for purposes of what part of the armor it hits.
My upcoming blog in the works:
They get cover. The part about the shot coming from the center of the blast only applies if there is actual cover (i.e. low wall, other troops, vehicle, etc.). Disruption pod is a special wargear/rule which always give cover if the shot is fired from over 12". The only way to get around it is to use a shot that ignores cover completely (i.e. temp weapons, Imperial Guard Collossus, etc.).
I stand corrected. Thanks for the input.