Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My friend says that when he fire ordnance barage my units in ruins or behind cover don't get a save so even if the whole squad is in a ruined building they can't claim cover? Is this true? He showed me in the rule book but it seems to me it says you can take cover regardless of where the shot came from
A moment of weakness spawns a life tme of heresy...
Your friend is half-right, and therefore also half-wrong.
While in a ruin or other terrain feature that might be considered area terrain, the unit will get its cover save. Models in area terrain will always get a cover save unless fired upon by a weapon which includes the ability to ignore cover saves in its profile. (Its also important to note that a barrage weapon will only ever hit the uppermost level of where it lands in a ruin.)
Otherwise, you use the center hole of the blast marker to determine the direction of fire for the purposes of cover. Let's say you have a squad hiding behind a tank. If the shot lands behind the tank, the unit will likely not get cover saves.
Last edited by psichotykwyrm; June 15th, 2009 at 18:02. Reason: spelling
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes