Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
An Imperial Guard Veteran squad is in their Chimera transport. In my shooting phase, they fire their three plasmaguns. Let's say I roll three 1's and all die. I've now taken 25% casualties and must take a LD test. What happens if I fail, seeing as I'm in a transport?
heheh that would really bite...I believe it would cause a forced disembarkation followed by an immediate fall back move since I can't seem to find anything in the BRB that gives any rules for this situation.
Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven
This one is a little tricky. It was discussed here but I can't seem to find the link.
It kinda depends on how you play it - are the passengers while embarked and the transport count as 1 unit or 2 separate units? If you count them as a single unit (and I normally do for the sake of simplicity), then they would never need to check Morale while embarked (p.63 - Vehicles and Morale).
If you play them as independent, then I suppose they would need to take a Morale test. However, what happens if they can't disembark? What if they just embarked that turn (you can't voluntarily embark and disembark on the same turn) or if the vehicle was more or less surrounded? Then would they should follow the Trapped rule and be all destroyed?
Unfortunately, the rules don't cover this situation very well. You'll just have to go over with your opponent to decide on how you would play this.
I would probably say they wouldn't if there are no clear rules on it. The casualties are all caused by the unit itself, and they are in the relative safety of a tank. Perhaps they would toss the plasma guns out the back to ensure no more trigger happy men get to it, hah, but other than that I think they would probably prefer to stay in the transport.
That being theory, and not always the GW route, its debatable. I myself would just say they suck it up 'n' stay in the tank.
And the embarked unit can only interact with the game via shooting abilities and disembarking due to the fact that they are not on the table
If they are not on the table then no Ld test is ever going to force the unit to disembark and thus enable a fall back to take place.
Also the rules for Moral Checks [page 44 BRB] in it’s heading gives the rules for ‘normal’ situations of which I would class this scenario as not.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
To the best of my knowledge, units embarked in transports don't take morale tests, hence you can't FAIL a morale test while embarked.. Though I couldn't for the life of me tell you where I'm remembering (Or mis-remembering) that from...
Also, to Wicky's comment:The casualties thing isn't from shooting or assault, it's whenever a unit takes 25% casualties in a single phase (Do not count close combat attacks as they are covered later).Since this is not a shooting or assault casualty but simply suffering a wound I would say that the squad size is just reduced by the number of those casualties.
If it was meant to apply only to shooting, I believe they would've referred to shooting rather than casualties in a single phase (Not counting close combat).
SO what I think is that Gets Hot CAN force a morale test to fall back, but not if you're embarked.
"The objective is to win, the point is to have fun."