Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Trick question regarding necron regeneration. This came up during our month apocalypse game, but had no direct impact on the outcome of the said game.
A necron warrior unit suffers casualties during the shooting phase. In the following assault phase, they are assaulted by a unit of nobs and suffer additional casualties. Because the counter charge of the defenders some of the previously slain necrons (from the shooting phase) are out of coherency, but are within 6 of another necron unit of the same type.
Now the unit gets caught in a sweeping advance. Survivors are cut down. Are the *combat damaged* necrons removed as part of the sweeping advance since they are in coherency or are they entitled to a WWB roll? And are the damaged *shooting phase* necrons free to use the WWB to join up with the unit within 6, or are they destroyed as well?
if i remember correctly, the wbb phase is in the moving phase of necron turn. so if there is no survivors=no wbb.the whole unit in or out of choerency is cut down in sweeping advances
no necron codex near me to confront thus
Hight elf and Craftworld Eldar army project pics heavy: linky
In this situation, the ones that broke and were caught by the sweeping advance are gone completely. The other ones (dropped in the shooting phase or to combat attacks that allow WBB ) are different. If those models are still within 6" if another unit, they can attempt to WBB and join those necrons.
So, 2 different versions so far. I would find it rather hard to believe that losing as many models has humanly possible in close combat is a good thing, as they would be allowed to WWB and join another unit. But I guess it's possible.
I just can't believe they haven't covered that in an FAQ.
Keep them coming !
moob is correct. The necrons shot down can still do wbb in their next movement phase as long as there is another necron unit within range.
The downed necrons are still part of their unit, they would be removed if the unit is destroyed by sweeping advance. They don't get a free pass just because they happen to already by on the ground. Sweeping advance is quite clear that you remove the entire unit regardless of any special rules. They wouldn't have an opportunity to become part of another unit until the start of the next necron player turn, long after sweeping advance has been resolved.
this came up in our game today too
Why not? Being out of coherency has never caused you to stop being a member of your unit in any other case. The damaged necron is still part of its original unit until such time as it finds itself in the situation of passing a WBB roll while within range of a different necron unit of the same type but not its own. Defender's React! does create a sort of bizarre fringe situation with regard to that, dunno why they didn't mention it in the FAQ. I would think the 'best' approach is to drag the damaged ones along for the compulsory movement just like you do while falling back.