Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
How many attacks does a basic CSM get? It says one in their profile, but they count as dual wielding right? So they get a base of two attacks? If thats correct, why doesnt the codex just say 2 attacks?
How about Khorne Berserkers? Do they get 2 base attacks or 3, because they are dual wielding?
It is the trend of all the codices (at least the newer ones) to just show the base attack. Normally you would have to add the extra attack due to bolt pistol or other single cc weapons. There are a few exceptions (like special characters and older codices), but they will usually state in their descriptions that the bonus +1A are already included.
The reason they don't automatically include it is that a lot of units can swap their weapons. If you give a CSM a power fist, then he would not get the +1A for a 2nd non-power fist cc-weapon. Also, sometimes one may swap the bolt pistol for another wargear (i.e. space marine storm shield) thus negating the +1A.
The "Attacks" characteristic in a model's profile represents their base number of attacks in close combat. Typically, especially in the more recent codices, this will not at all include bonus attacks from things such as having two close combat weapons; these are bonus attacks that stack on top of the basic Attack characteristic listed in their profile.
As jy2 said, many models can change up their weapons which will affect whether or not they receive a bonus attack, so only basic attacks are shown in profiles (in most cases).
Because the statline shows their base stats. CSM have a base of 1 attack, +1 attack for having a pistol/ccw.How many attacks does a basic CSM get? It says one in their profile, but they count as dual wielding right? So they get a base of two attacks? If thats correct, why doesnt the codex just say 2 attacks?
The reason this isn't included in their profile is because partly because of weapons changes like jy2 mentioned and also because some units have mechanics which interact with the weapons bonus such as DE Wych Weapons.
Veni Vidi Variant
I came, I saw, I got a different type of Leman Russ.
The spikey ones go faster.
98% of the teen population has smoked weed, the other 2% went straight to crack.
Saga of the Ages. Click it.
Rules for grenades are on page 72 of the rulebook.
Thanks for the quick responses. Just a follow up question.. Powerfists dont count as a CCW? My opponent has been getting the +1 attack with those for two CCW.
Power weapons are not in that list, so a regular CCW or pistol may grant the bonus attack.
As sithjack mentioned, Dark Eldar Wyches use special weaponry that removes the added attack from enemies with a 2nd CCW. If that attack was included in the model's profile (as with Deamons), Wyches wouldn't get to use that ability.
GW could list it like so: A 1(2), but it would be confusing if some models had that in their profile while other characters that bought the pistol or CCW from the armory did not.
--•-My 40K projects-•--
It's also a why they don't include the +1 attack from charging. Just because it can happen doesn't mean it will (swopping of weapons etc). Heh, it took me a while to get used to the PF, TH needing the same weapon too >_<
I hear and I forget, I see and I remember, I do and I understand
Success is the ability to go from failure to failure without losing your enthusiasm.