Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I know this may sound like a dumb question but when shooting at a unit on a building with a blast/template weapon does it also strike the building or just the unit you designated as your target and if a blast weapon does hit both then does it become half strength if its center doesn't land on the building?
Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven
Regular buildings and ruins aren't affected by incoming fire - they just provide cover.
If for some reason you're playing with a building that has an armour value (bunkers, house rules, etc.), then the building would be hit exactly like a vehicle.
Of course, if you're firing a Linebreaker squadron's combined shot then all that goes out the window - it'll blow up anything as outlined in the formation rules.
Remember that it's a good idea to go over with your opponent and decide how to play buildings before you start.
- is it a ruin or a building? (there's a difference)
- what's the cover save
- whether it's treated as difficult or dangerous terrain
- any armor value?
- if it's a building, can infantry go inside?
With ruins, they cannot be destroyed anymore than they already are. With buildings, if you play it that infantry can go inside, you should also give it Armor Values and treat it as you would any vehicles (though it obviously is already immobilised).
Unless it is a bunker, most people that I see just plays buildings as cover with no armor value. Thus it is indestructible and you cannot go inside. You could, however, go up on the roof and shoot there while getting the benefit of cover.
It sounds like Duo ran into the same problem my group did with the Skyshield Landing Pad, its a building with an armor value but infantry can't "embark" into it, and instead walk on top if it like a piece of area terrain. I would personally go based off where the center of the marker lands, if its over a models base is over an infantry model and not actually over the building, half strength, if the center is over the building then full strength like against a vehicle.