Witch Hunters & Space Marines - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member SilentNinja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    357
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    Witch Hunters & Space Marines

    Now I play with the Witch Hunters Codex using a Sisters of Battle army, and I'm trying to clarify a few things from the Ard Boyz Tourney rules.
    Under approved army lists it says:
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Forces of the Inquisition
    • Codex Daemonhunters
    • Codex Witchhunters
    • Inquisitorial armies may take Imperial Guard and
    Space Marine allies, chosen from the latest versions of
    their codices. As both of these codices have changed
    recently, use the following amendments to the list on
    pg 30-31 of the Daemon Hunters book and page 26
    of the Witch Hunters book:
    Troops
    Space Marine Tactical Squad, Space Marine Scout
    Squad, Imperial Guad Infantry Platoon, Imperial
    Guard Veteran Squad. Unit upgrade characters
    may NOT be taken (i.e. Commander Chenkov,
    Sergeant Bastonne)
    Fast Attack
    Space Marine Assault Squad, Land Speeder
    Squadron, Space Marine Bike Squadron, Scout
    Sentinel Squadron, Armored Sentinel Squadron,
    Rough Rider Squad, Scout Bike Squad
    Heavy Support
    Space Marine Devastator Squad, Space Marine
    Land Raider (Crusader and Redeemer as well),
    Space Marine Dreadnought, Space Marine
    Predator, 0-1 Leman Russ Squadron (Pask may NOT
    be taken)
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Does this now mean that I, as a Witch Hunters player using a Sisters of Battle army, can use Space Marines from the list above as allies now?

    Also, are the changes to the available Imperial Guard ally units an official and permanent change?






    Last edited by SilentNinja; July 12th, 2009 at 18:41.
    "When Blood Speaks, Shadows Answer."




  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member R3con's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    169
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    No you can use a witch hunter army without any sisters and take space marine allies....

    You've always been allowed to have a witch hunter army with space marine allies...you just cant have any SoB in the witch hunter army.
    For Michigan Apoc news and meetups.. www.mi40k.com

  4. #3
    jy2
    jy2 is offline
    Hive Fleet Pandora jy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    797 (x8)

    Daemonhunters can only use Space Marine allies if they do not have any Grey Knights. Likewise, Witch Hunters can only use Space Marine allies if they do not have any Adepta Sororitas units.

    The changes to Imperial Guard allies are for the Ard Boyz tourney. In regular games, you'd have to discuss with your opponent, though most people probably won't have a problem as the Ard Boyz is an official GW event.

  5. #4
    Fun guy from Yuggoth Moglun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Age
    33
    Posts
    772
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    235 (x4)

    What the Tourney rules are saying is that instead of the allies listed in the WH and DH codices, you now pick allies from this list (to reflect the new/different SM and IG units). As R3con and Jy2 said, the other rules/restrictions regarding allies are still in place.
    Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.

  6. #5
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    And just to reiterate what jy2 said, these are rules for the tournament only. If you wish to use them in regular games against opponents not in this tournament, you'll have to get their permission until a FAQ or another codex update comes out.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts