Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If a unit kills a transport, say my land speed destroys a truck. Can other unit shoot at he disembarked unit from the transport? Also can they be assaulted by anyone in assualt range.
I cant seem to find anything about it in the rules book. Let me know which page number to look at.
The unit that destroyed the vehicle may not assault the disembarked troops. Of course, anyone else can shoot or assault the disembarked troops.
(WH40K) Dark Eldar - (12,000pts) Sisters of Battle - (5000pts) Dark Angels -(3500pts) (WHFB) Dark Elves - (10,000pts) Beastmen - (5000pts) Empire - (3000pts) Wood Elves - (1500pts)
if you would turn your attention to page 67 of the asault on black reach rulebook undser Note: it states
"remember that all models in a single unit fire simultaniously, so a squad cannot take out a transport with its lascannon and thenn mow down the occupants with their bolters"
here it only forbids you from shooting at the unit with the other members of the squad that destroyed the transport not anyone else in your army that happens to be in range
"However, if a transport is destroyed (either result) by a rqanged attack the unit that shot it may assault the now disembarkked passengers, if it's allowed to assault according to the assault rules."
i think thats pretty self explanatory, so in the assault phase their open season
Ask me about the Black and White Space Marine on the Black and White Bike!!!
What about consolidation after killing a tank in melee? Does that happen or not so much, because its not a sweeping advance or whatever.
Hi, on a related note how about units inside a vehicle? Say Marines in a Rhino destroy a Vehicle forcing its passengers out. Can the Rhino itself then shoot at the passengers? Or is the Rhino a part of the unit and can't fire at them as well? Any help is appreciated!
While the Rhino is the transport it is not a "member of the squad" and so may shoot at whatever it wants to.
Of course, if the Marines are embarked then this becomes a bi of a headache and I'm not actually sure if they count as the Rhino, though fire points do state that x models may fire from within the transport so maybe...
I'd say that embarked units may fire seperately from the transport, as per the fire point rules.
So that means they can fire at different targets as well then? So the passengers can shoot at the tank and if it doesn't blow up, the Rhino can shoot at another unit? I read the fire points rules and it tells me nothing related to these questions.
You are correct xano.
The squad inside the transport is still a separate unit. It's just represented on the board by the vehicle's model, and that doesn't change the rules for target selection at all.
--•-My 40K projects-•--
You and Krovin are right.
Just for clarification, the rules for fire-points, simplified, mean that any squad embarked on a vehicle with x fire points may have x models fire from within the vehicle, treating the chosen point (i.e. port hatch, top hatch) as the point of measurement. Movement penalties apply as they do to models on foot.