Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
1) If you ram a transport and destroy it, do you then tank shock the passengers? According to ram, you stop 1" away from the vehicle in question. After it is destroyed, you continue your tankshock/ramming move. Since those passengers are deployed in the wreckage of the vehicle, I assume you tank shock the passengers as you drive by.
2) If you immobilize a vehicle in the shooting phase that had moved in previous turn, do you hit it automatically in combat? The rule states that if a vehicle is immobilized or did not move in the previous turn it is hit automatically (emphasis mine), followed by the line that if it moved at combat speed during the previous turn it is hit on a 4+. I have to imagine that the present status of immobilization overrides the fact that last turn it moved.
1) I believe it depends on where the opponent places his disembarked crew. Basically, as I understand it, he may place it anywhere within 2" of the hull of his vehicle (or where it used to be in the case of an explosion). If he places it so that even 1 is in the path of your vehicle, then yes, I believe they would be tank shocked.
2) Yes, you automatically hit it.
You can only continue with a ram move if you explode the vehicle, so they'll have to be in the crater it forms. That said, depending on the size of the vehicles, it's possible to deploy in the crater and not be in the path of the ramming vehicle as it continues (especially if it only clipped the target).
Is there any rule that specifically says that if you immobilize a vehicle then it's automatically hit in the assault phase?
I play it that you still need the 4+.
"When Blood Speaks, Shadows Answer."
Umm...yes. It states that if a vehicle is immobilized or did not move in a previous turn then it's automatically hit in the assault phase.
The situation that arises is that you have a vehicle that both is immobilized (present tense, auto hit) and yet also moved last turn (past tense, hit on 4+) so both statements are true. The question is, which takes priority? Personally I feel that present always takes priority over the past, and hence my opinion is that it's auto hit, especially because if they just stated 'did not move last turn' then that would include immobilized vehicles. The fact that they specifically refer to immobilized vehicles, in present tense, leads me to believe this is what they had in mind.
Here's an easy way to think of it/remember: If a vehicle is immobalized, it is not presently moving. If the vehicle is not presently moving, and you walk up to it, your units suck if they cannot hit it. Finally any army whose units suck so much where they cannot hit an immoble target in point blank range all became extinct in warhammer 20k ( :p )