Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm a very new player so some of these questions may be common sense things, so I appreciate everyone's patience with a newbie.
1) What happens when a tank or other vehicle (In our game it was a Defiler) finds that its movement ends on top of a defense line (those from planetstrike)? Are they allowed to move the terrain piece or is it a case of not being able to complete the move?
2) During a game we played, my opponent charged a unit of my gaunts with his khorne berserkers. After he had finished his charge, I noticed that he had moved on of his guys within one inch of a nearby zoanthrope, but not in base to base contact. Is this allowed? Is he considered to be assaulting the zoanthrope too then or does he either make sure he is at least an inch away from any units he does not actually move into base to base with?
3) I had a unit of gaunts lined up in base to base contact with a defense line. My opponent charged the unit, but obviously couldn't move over the wall because I wa son the other side. Since he did not have to roll a difficult terrain check when he assauklted, does that mean his initiative is not reduced to one for assaulting into difficult terrain? That doesn't seem right to me, as then lining up alongside a wall would actually be counter productive for a defender.
4) This questions involved wound allocation, and its kind of hard to explain so I will use the exact situation as reference. My opponent is Abaddon and he is attacking a unit of three tyrant guards and a hive tyrant with extended carapace (Thus giving him a 2+ save). He manages to get a total of nine wounds. Since they have seperate saves, I get to allocate the wounds seperately. Abaddon's attacks ignore armor, so technically the guards won't get a save, but wound allocation happens before rolling for saves. So, could I allocate 7 wounds to the guards and 2 to the tyrant, knowing full well that it will overkill the guards by one wound?
Sorry, don't know anything about Planetstrike or defensive lines.
2. Page 11 and page 34 both specify that a model is allowed to move within 1" of an enemy while assaulting. It does not have to be the same enemy which is being assaulted. He is not considered to be assaulting any units unless he declared that he was and moved into base contact with them, so the 'Thrope is still out of the combat.
4. Yes, you could. This is true whether or not they have different armour saves, since the Tyrant is different from the Guards in other ways as well.
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.
1.) You might often find it's the case that your vehicle ends it's turn halfway through/over difficult terrain like the Aegis line or some other kind of barricade. You can't remove or displace the terrain by the rules, though you and your opponent may agree to move the terrain in order to fit the vehicle, so long as you put it right back into position afterwards. If you don't want to move the terrain around, the easiest thing is probably to invoke the wobbly model rule and try to place it as close as you can to it's actual position.
3.) I'm afraid I don't have my book to reference the exact wording, but it does say to ignore the defense line for purposes of determining base contact. Basically if you're in base to base with the defense line, you're considered in base to base with a model on the other side-- you're fighting over the top of the barricade. That being the case, it doesn't seem to require a difficult terrain check (unless of course the line itself is placed in difficult terrain) and so shouldn't affect the attackers initiative.
Last edited by Deris87; July 21st, 2009 at 23:03.
For Michigan Apoc news and meetups.. www.mi40k.com
1) I believe a defiler is considered a walker. In that case it moves like infantry over terrain, having to roll dice for moving through cover. Now for a tank rolling over the defense line... I don't believe the Aegis defense line has an AV. A tank would have to make a difficult terrain test as it rolls over the line. If it stopped on top of the line, the next turn when it moved again it would have to take another difficult terrain test. (and hope you don't immobilize yourself) As for placing the models, you could stop the vehicle short by not doing your full move or put it on the obstacle(depends on how easy it is to do that.)
2)Since your zo was not in base to base, it is not in cc. I wasnt there to see what happened, but realize he probably could have multi-charged your zo as well. Just as long as he got the closest bezerker into combat with your gaunts first, he could have moved one into contact with your zo, locking him in too.
3) Being behind the defense line puts you in cover for the purposes of assault. Enemies when charging will just line up on the other side, counting as being in b2b. I don't have a page reference for you right now though.
4) You are correct. Wound allocation can be tricky to figure out when you first start. Wound allocation is before saves. But basically every model has to have 1 wound on it before you start allocating the second wound, and so on for the 2nd, 3rd, 4th etc. wounds. Once all of your 4 models in that unit (3 guard 1 tyrant) have 2 wounds, you are free to put that last wound where you want. (in this case you made the correct decision by placing it on your guard, which is what its there for)