Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
How does cover saves work against blast weapons - such as battle cannon, plasma cannon, earthshaker. Do you get cover based on wear the shell lands? or do you get it based on the firer? I know barrage weapons allow cover saving throws based on wear the shell lands... but is that true with all blast or ordinance weapons?
I'm pretty sure you will still get your cover save. I am unaware of any rules saying otherwise. Consider the cover save to represent the troops diving on the ground to take cover.
I'll go look through my rulebook, but off the top of my head you still get the save.
Half Gods are worshiped with Wine and Flowers. Real Gods are worshiped in Blood.
Blood for the Blood God! Beer for the Bronze Keg!
I believe I can clear this up. You get cover against blast weapons both small or large based on the LoS of the firer. Thisthen of course changes if the shot fires indirectly, in which case you get cover based on where the hole in the centre of the template is compared to your troops.
Ask me about the Black and White Space Marine on the Black and White Bike!!!
page 32 rulebook
"• To determine if a unit wounded by a barrage weapon
is allowed a cover save, always assume the shot is
coming from the centre of the marker, instead of
from the firing model. Remember that models in area
terrain get their cover save regardless of the direction
the shot is coming from."
rest of blast weapons that are heavy type not barrage give cover saves from the shooting party LOS as ussual
However, what does that mean for area cover like rubble and forests?
it means it follows the area terrain rules but move the firing model in the center of the blast (just imagine of course).
Yup. Means barrage weapons fired into area terrain will grant cover to your unit, but out in the open not (unless you've tightly "wrapped" 2 squads and are hyper beardy). Any non-barrage blast weapon = cover as normal from firer's LOS.
Nids & Guard
GMail = MVBrandt