Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay i understand that WH can take a Land Raider from DH. I also understand that WH can take IG chimera...My question is this, Can a IG player take WH allies in a normal game? (Im assuming that the answer is yes) but can a IG player take a WH unit then stick them in a DH Land Raider to avoid the force organization rules. and then use them in a normal mission? Also can said IG player also add a Vindicare Assassin to this list?
"Suffering Is Wisdom"
When using the allies rules, you can only pull units from one codex in addition to the army you are using as the base (fulfilling the force organization chart requirements of HQ and 2 troops.)
So if you're playing guard you either take allied Witchhunters or Daemonhunters, not both. Since heavy support are not allowed to be taken from these lists as allies, you cannot use a daemonhunters Land Raider in an imperial guard army.
Also, A daemonhunters land raider can only be taken if you have a Grey Knight Hero in your army.
I understand that you cant take a heavy support from an allies list but what is being done is that the WH are being put in a Land Raider as a dedicated transport to aviod the force organization restrictions. So you say that you must have a Hero of some kind to include a Land Raider? Is that in the army list or in the Land raider...can IG take a Hero from DH? Is putting units in a dedicated transport to avoid force organization restrictions legal in this matter?
"Suffering Is Wisdom"
What is very confusing is that WH have the Land Raider in their Codex as a transport, but none of their units have the option of taking one. If they did, it would be listed in the "Transport vehicle:" section of that unit's description. So that's your first problem to deal with.
The second problem is that each unit can only choose a dedicated transport (or any other option/wargear) from its own codex. So WH getting dedicated a DH transport (and vice versa) is out of the question.
Your third problem is that the DH Land Raider requires a Grey Knights Hero to be taken, but it is only available for the DH Inquisitor Lord & his retinue. An IG player can indeed take both DH and WH as allies as long as the compulsory FOC slots are filled by IG units, but getting to use the DH Land Raider requires both of the usual 2 HQ slots to be taken by a DH unit.
So ultimately, it is possible to put a WH unit in a DH Land Raider, but it needs to be in a scenario where your FOC includes at least 3 HQ slots. That's typically only in Planetstrike or Apocalypse games.
The Assassin is much easier for IG to take. Just add an Inquisitor from either codex as an ally to your IG army, and then you can include any assassin you wish. Just remember that these choices are taking up 2 of your Elites slots. Alternatively, you can take an Inquisitor Lord slot instead of the Inquisitor, which is an HQ instead of an Elite.
They can't take the DH heavy support landraider.
The WH machine spirit is not the same as the DH one.Only as a transport choice for inducted guard, where valid.I also understand that WH can take IG chimera
(again - sisters have their own chimera transport option for the WH stormtroopers, though it costs a lot more than the IG one)Yes, one HQ, one elite, one fast attack, and up to two troops choices from the WH codex - but you need to have at least one IG HQ and two IG troops first.My question is this, Can a IG player take WH allies in a normal game?You can take both WH and DH allies in the same army.can a IG player take a WH unit then stick them in a DH Land Raider to avoid the force organization rules. and then use them in a normal mission?
AFAIK the DH landraider is still restricted by the old dedicated transport rules, but the 5th WH FAQ appears to remove that restriction for WH landraiders:Originally Posted by Witch Hunters FAQ 2004-08_5th_EditionYes, provided you have an inquisitor lord from the same codex.Also can said IG player also add a Vindicare Assassin to this list?
Basically what you appear to need is :
- A WH inquisitor lord, with a landraider
- A WH vindicare assassin
(as a correction to Krovin's post - you cannot ally two elite choices from the same codex, nor does the elite inq from one codex allow you to take an assassin from the other)
It also says the same thing in the latest FAQs, now that I've checked them.Witch Hunters/Daemonhunters cannot ally with a force that uses any other type of ally with the exception of separate detatchments and units from other Ordos of the Inquisition.
And I suppose you are correct about the assassins, but it only matters if you were trying to take 2 assassins, since the actual choices are identical in both codices.
Last edited by Krovin-Rezh; July 28th, 2009 at 09:34.
Awesome great help guys thank you!
"Suffering Is Wisdom"