Dedicated Transports - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Age
    35
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Dedicated Transports

    Hi All,

    This is my first post, so please, be gentle.

    My rules question is this: Can Grey Knights use an Inquisitorial Rhino, if it happens to be on the battlefield and unoccupied? I know the codex says that dedicated transports can only be used by the unit that they were purchased with, but didn't that change in 5th edition?

    I think they can, my Tau opponent also agrees that they can, though he added "you seem to be right, but I don't like it"

    Please let me know your thoughts!

    Thanks,
    -SuperDoop


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Dat Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    i am pretty sure they can
    I hate white scars!!
    Ravenwing all the way!!

  4. #3
    Scourge Lord Krovin-Rezh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    1,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    204 (x6)

    As long as the GKs you're talking about are not Terminators, the answer is yes.

    The only thing to remember is that the GKs cannot start the game inside the transport, since it is not dedicated to their unit. This rule is found on page 67 of the rulebook.

    --•-My 40K projects-•--

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Age
    35
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Yes, I was specifically referring to PAGK.

    So in this case does the codex not overrule the 5th edition book?

  6. #5
    LO Zealot Corianis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Regional South Australia
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    112 (x4)

    Correct, because the codex was published before the 5th edition rules.
    OT: GW's line is that Codex trumps Rulebook, no matter how old the codex is. Seems bass ackward to me, but there we are.
    Last edited by Corianis; July 28th, 2009 at 15:24.
    ___
    Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
    Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom

  7. #6
    Scourge Lord Krovin-Rezh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    1,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    204 (x6)

    Unfortunately, I can't find anywhere in the latest DH FAQ where it changes the rule that dedicated transports can only carry the units they are dedicated to. So unless someone can quote where this rule is changed, the PAGKs cannot actually use the Rhino. This is an exception to the normal rules of 5th edition.

    As a note, how old the codex rule is does not matter. What is important is that the rules do not have to override any contradictions. For instance, I play Dark Eldar. Their rules are even older than DH, but their special Feel No Pain rule for Grotesques still takes precedent over the newer 5th edition version because it still works. If it didn't work (and there wasn't an errate for it), they just wouldn't be able to use it anymore.

    --•-My 40K projects-•--

  8. #7
    LO Zealot Corianis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Regional South Australia
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    112 (x4)

    Well, this is an oops. Found in the Oct 2008 Rulebook FAQ that:
    if a Codex clearly says that dedicated
    transports can only be used during the game by
    the unit that bought them, that overrules the
    general rule in the rulebook
    Still, if "... [the] opponent also agrees that they can..." :shrug:
    Last edited by Corianis; July 28th, 2009 at 15:20. Reason: phrasing
    ___
    Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
    Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts