Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The Ministorum Priest (an Imperial Guard unit with the Independent Character special rule) has the following ability:
Righteokus Fury: A Priest and his unit re-roll an failed To Hit rolls in close combat on the turn in which they assault. (p 35 IG codex)
If his unit assults, and the priest dies before his unit has a chance to attack (like the rest of his unit is at I3, and he attacked some space marienes at I4) (which is pretty likely to happen, as in assults, Independent Characters can be individually targeted) Does his unit still get the reroll?
Look at the conditions for the rule to take effect. The priest being alive to make his own attacks is not one of them.
If a priest's unit charges, they get to re-roll their attacks, regardless if he lives to contribute. He just needs to be alive when the unit assaults.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes