Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
We had another query last night playing Planetstrike.
If an blast or ordnance weapon (or the firestorms) hit a vehicle directly on top of it, which armor value do you use?
The situation we had was a plasma cannon (blast template), sitting on the top of a bastion, targeted the roof of my rhino. Direct hit. Now, since it's sitting to my front, even if he targeted the roof, do I get my front armor value? I GUESS this is how the rules read, but it seems funny (he was going for 'weaker' armor on top, which he could see).
Another situation: the opening firestorm. What if one of those directly hits the top of a vehicle? Front armor? Rear armor?
I dont know if the rile would change for indiect firing weapons like the firestorm, but then I dont see which value it would use, but the rulebook is pretty specific on page 60 where it basically ssays that you use the armour value facing the firer. I checked the rules for barrage also, but I coldnt find anything useful about firing at veichles.
Ask me about the Black and White Space Marine on the Black and White Bike!!!
A barrage that lands on top uses side armor to simulate 'top armor.' A direct fire weapon will always use the side facing the firer regardless of elevation. (in regular 40K rules.)
From page 60 of the rule book, "Hits from barrage weapons, however, always hit the
vehicle’s side armour (representing its top armour)". This is in regards to blasts that actually have the center over the hull. Misses always hit armor from the direction of where the center hole ends up.
Other than barrage weapons, there is no case where shooting at the top of the vehicle would change normal armor facing rules.