Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So, lets say you have a vehicle of squadron of 3 units and they suffer 1 pen. It rolls immobilized and therefor, since its a squadron, its destroyed. BUT, what if they suffer 3 pens? you assigned 1 to each unit (like you have too) and 3 immobilized are rolled. Now, i think RAW is they all get destroyed (because, remember, all shots, and therefor pens happen at the SAME time. So they each get immobalized at the same time, and according to the rules, as they are all in a squadron and all immobalized they all die) But, i dunno, that doesnt seem to make flavorfull sense at all. The flavor behind immobalized -> destroyed is that you are destroying your own units as to not leave them behind for the enemy. But if your entire squadron got immobalized...you would just wait around, not blow up your vehicle. Thoughts, comments (its possible i am wrong)
While fluffwise it makes sense they would survive and sit there, they are still subject to the rules of squadrons, and thus would crash and burn. Even if there are three of them. Since the hits happen simultaneously, then they don't have time to break off and form their own unit.
This is one of those cases where in real life (warhammer universe real life) they wouldn't be destroyed, but the rules still demand that they all pop.
Yep by RAW you “treat all immobilised results as destroyed.”
The crew are under strict orders to abandon immobilised vehicles………etc.
There is no provision for waiting around, sorry.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
In 4th Ed you could hang around the downed vehicle and thus keep it "alive", otherwise you would be giving away Victory Points but as the other members have said, this is no longer the case in 5th Ed.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
It is also worth remembering that the results have to be allocated to all the squadron members even if any are out of line of sight and/or range. As long as one of the squadron members can be hit then all are eligible for damage results allocation. All members have to be allocated one damage result before a second can be allocated to any member.
This really makes squadrons vulnerable.
Penetrating and Glancing hits are allocated, then damage results determined. Damage results are not allocated. Minor difference