Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I am a new WH40k player with a friend who has a fair amount of experience
with wh40k gaming. We recently had a discussion regarding my biovore -
- His oppinion:
- My biovore has to roll BS 4+ in order to get to fire his spore at all that round,
- If that BS roll is failed, my biovore is assumed to have messed up the firing
- and doesnt get to deploy his mine.
- My oppinion:
- I cannot find anywhere in either my codex or the main rulebook that states
- that I have to make this roll. From my understanding the biovore firing is
- simply like so:
- I announce my biovore fires a spore - I place the spore wherever I want
- within his range - I roll scatter - if hit, it stays where I put it or else I roll
- on how far the spore misses (as normal deep strike rules).
- The only action that can cause my biovore not to fire is if I guess the
- distance incorrectly and attempt to land one outside his range, in wich case
- the shot is disregarded as having missed miserably, landing off table.
I do agree with my friend that it is rather poorly described in the books and
lacks an example of the calculation in the description of the biovore.
I disagree, however, that it is 'logical' to assume I have to roll "to hit" because
it's a weapon. I consider the scatter dice to be my "to hit" roll.
Before I follow a rule that I consider will make a biovore all but useless
(If not that too), could someone please give some examples of a biovore firing
an explain why?
(I've ofcourse found other similar discussions, but none that clearly give an example of
the firing sequence. This would be very much appreciated.)
We're playing 5th edition, using 4th codexes as 5th ed codexes are not available.
Since the spore scatters, that's what his BS is used for, scatter - his BS
Unless I'm totaly reading the rule wrong, your take on the firing of sporemines is correct, treat him as an ordinance weapon!
Yes, I did deep-strike your sister...
Necrons : W-8 D-3 L-7 (Sleeping in their TombFoam, waiting for a new codex)
Chaos Forces (CSM/CD): W-42 D-19 L-28
Apocalypse Games : W-4 D-0 L-1 (4 Titans, Brass Scorp, 3 Baneblades, 2 Bombers, 3 Fighters, and a Partrage in a Pear Tree)
Isnt it a ordance barrage weapon? I am pretty sure you just place and scatter like normal. I never heard of not being able to shoot. That would be like a leman russ not being able to shoot its ordance because it doesnt roll a 4+. Sounds like your friend is just making crap up. imo.
Just read the rules for ordance barrage, and firing ordance weapons. The ordance weapon just happens to be a little floating mine, and not a huge templated unless it breaks open. And the rules are described for that.
Page 28 of the Tyranid codex says that Spore Mines are fired as 'barrage' weapons.
See page 32 of the 40k rule book for the procedure on firing with barrage weapons. Quick summary, all barrage attacks use blast markers and thus you roll the scatter dice as normal with any blast weapon. There is no other "to-hit" roll.
Probably your friend - of whom you write that he has a fair amount of experience in W40k - is stuck with 4th edition rules.
The old rules required ordnance weapons to roll to hit like all the other weapons (except for template weapons like flamers). If you failed the roll you forfeited your shot, if you succeeded at the to hit roll you placed the blast marker and rolled for scatter.
5th edition is different, though. No more to hit rolls for any weapons that use blast markers (barring any special rules in codexes that specifically state they need such a roll).