Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey, some seemingly basic questions that I just want to validate...
1) If you shoot at a unit, totally wipe/break the unit, you cannot assault another unit, correct? This is due to the rule that you can only assault the unit that you targeted.
2) If you shoot a transport and wreck/destroy it, you can assault the disembarking troops, correct? I saw this in another forum post referencing a statement in the BRB rulebook, but it seems to be a minor contradiction of not being able to assault any other unit than you shot at.
Of course, I could have it all wrong
Thanks for any comments and corrections!
1. if u mean consolidate into another unit then no.
2. i beleive u can
There are three kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who cannot.
The unit that destroys a transport cannot assault the disembarking unit, because they are consided 2 seperate units.
But however any other unit can shoot at them, and assault them as normal if they are in range. So pop those transports first.
Page 67: EFFECTS OF DAMAGE RESULTS ON PASSENGERS
"if a transport is destroyed (either result) by a ranged attack, the unit that shot at it may assault the now diesmbarked passengers, if it is allowed to assault according to the assault rules."
And yes, this is the exception to the rule that you cannot target two different units in the same turn, which is found on pages 16 & 33.
Last edited by Krovin-Rezh; August 20th, 2009 at 19:22.
GD gw, one of their guys told me i cant assault the unit inside.... Bastards~
They don't know the rules any better than anyone else, unfortunately.
Yeah, since the squad and their ride are basically the same entity for this purpose, you're allowed to start things off by wrecking the tank and still finish the job with the assault. You'll have to be really close to pull it off, though!
As for the first question, you must always assault what you shot at (except for the transport thing, obviously). So no, you can't go jumping into a fight with something else. Keep in mind - you can still assault the broken unit if they're close enough!
It's worse in that (at least in my area) they know less about the rules than most of the average players. Their lack of knowledge with their supposed position of authority in the GW stores is a bad combination for new gamers.The only other exception to the transport+unit inside charge is if you multi-charge extra units. Remember though that your shooting target must be your primary charge target... so if you fail to reach them due to being out of range or a failed terrain check, you cannot assault any other units even if they were closer.As for the first question, you must always assault what you shot at (except for the transport thing, obviously). So no, you can't go jumping into a fight with something else.