Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Still kind of new to the 40k scene, after being in Fantasy for a few years..
Was curious as to the validity / cheese factor of this situation:
SM player with a unit of 5 combat termi's. 1 has a Thunder Hammer / Storm Shield combo, the other 4 have pairs of lightning claws.
They are engaged with a unit of Chaos Terminators, who have assorted chain fists / lightning claw pairs. The Chaos Terminators have a Slaanesh Icon, so those with pairs of Lightning Claws get to attack first.
Is the space marine player allowed to allocate all the "wounds" taken from the Chaos Termi Lightning Claws (which don't give an armor save) to the one model with the Storm Shield and thus take all the hits and roll with his 3+ invulnerable from the Storm Shield?
I know if he fails one he dies and then the other SM Terminators in the unit HAVE to take the attacks, but I was curious as to if it is possible for the Storm Shield Terminator to actually "tank" all the incoming attacks while he is alive?
From a common sense point of view it doesn't seem like he should be able to, but from a rules standpoint it appears its ok?
Was curious on the take from some more experience players out there.
No, when a group of wounds come in, you have to allocate them around the squad, everybody gets one to save before anybody gets a second.
Of course it's never actually that simple In your case, remember this is done per initiative step. So you'll allocate once when you take the lightning claw hits, then when the chain fists come around it's another set of allocations. You can also choose who takes what type of wound. So if you have 5 guys, one with storm shield, and you get wounded twice with a power weapon and 8 times with regular weapons, the stormshield guy can take both power weapons and the other four guys each get two on their regular armor.
BRB Pg. 39 and to a lesser extent pg's 24-25 should answer your questions.
Short answer is no, he cannot do that.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
thought I had remember reading something about it, but sure couldn't find it during the last game