Skimmer Base Issues - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Formerly Prince of Excess EmoJosh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,499
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    368 (x8)

    Skimmer Base Issues

    I searched a few threads but none had the particular question I'm after.

    Skimmer bases must be on the models except if they get Immobilized or Destroyed, than you can take them off, unless you have Landing Gear etc.

    What do you guys do about skimmers that don't have a flying base? Maybe the owner doesn't own one because they didn't make a difference last edition as much, or maybe it broke or w/e.

    It seems like you'd have to physically hold the model a few inches above where it's laying so you can see if it's in true LoS or not. Does anyone have experience with this situation? Or if I missed the archived thread on it, post a link and my apologies for not searching hard enough.

    Check my Blog for Battle Reports, useless ranting and more! Comments appreciated.
    Like to talk Warhammer or want some advice on Armies or Tactics? Drop me a PM!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Junior Member Acez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    419
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    98 (x1)

    To be honnest, at my store we do not penalize people who do not have a flying stand for their skimmers, however the rules do. Yes, you need to have a flying base because if you do not, your tank is on the ground, and is blocking line of sight to people behind it. If it was on a flying base, you can see through the flying base hense you have LoS thought the tank, however it does not provide you cover for behind behind it.

    So it shouldn't matter that much to your opponent, but just remember you shouldnt be able to fire through it if you don't.
    Check out Double Edged Painting blog for more information on commissions and work in progress



  4. #3
    Formerly Prince of Excess EmoJosh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,499
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    368 (x8)

    Well there's also the issue of LoS. If it's behind a building on the ground, maybe you can't see it but on a base you could, that's an advantage you shouldn't have. Hence why true LoS kind of makes it a bigger deal that it should be.
    Check my Blog for Battle Reports, useless ranting and more! Comments appreciated.
    Like to talk Warhammer or want some advice on Armies or Tactics? Drop me a PM!

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Age
    36
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    Maybe if the skimmer bases didnt suck, people would use them lmao.

  6. #5
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Q. What do you guys do about skimmers that don't have a flying base?

    A. You play it as though they have.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Age
    36
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    Basically the only thing 40k rulebook doesnt say is how long or short the base can be. They just say you need the base. So Technically, you could model all your flyers with a 1cm tall base, and that would be legit.

  8. #7
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cenedar View Post
    Basically the only thing 40k rulebook doesnt say is how long or short the base can be. They just say you need the base. So Technically, you could model all your flyers with a 1cm tall base, and that would be legit.
    The rules say that you use what is supplied, so are you saying that you were indeed supplied with a 1cm tall flying stand?
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  9. #8
    Member camarodragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    47
    Posts
    725
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    191 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Wicky View Post
    The rules say that you use what is supplied, so are you saying that you were indeed supplied with a 1cm tall flying stand?

    It was supplied with a 6 cm stand that was cut down to 1 cm...


    You had to see that coming Wicky..!!
    NECRON Army List Builder a Free excel capable list generator for 5th and 6th ed. 11/2011
    Necrons - 6000 points, Tau - 6000, Daemons - 5250, Eldar - 4500, Blood Angels - 5000
    Some pics form my hobby. http://s145.photobucket.com/albums/r...arodragon/40k/

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Age
    36
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    Mine come with different height stands, I mean they are flying objects, what is to say where they are flying at?

  11. #10
    Fun guy from Yuggoth Moglun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Age
    33
    Posts
    772
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    235 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cenedar View Post
    Mine come with different height stands, I mean they are flying objects, what is to say where they are flying at?
    I don't actually own any flying models (for 40K, at least), so I'm not completely familiar with this, but I was under the impression that a given model came with a single base of a particular height. Which models come with multiple base heights?
    Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts