Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was reading through the rules (page 42 of rulebook), and i looked at the "Fighting with two single-handed weapons" section.
I cannot interpret it properly obviously. My cousin told me that having an assault marine armed with a chainsword and pistol gives 2 attacks (2 single handed weapons) + 1 bonus.
I then looked that the special weapon and a normal weapon section. It says they gain an additional attack aswell. Does this mean that if i have an assault marine sergeant, i can give him a bolt pistol and a power axe and he receives the standard two attacks (1 for each weapon) and a bonus attack? Which makes it the same value as a chainsword and pistol combo but without the armour save.
Any help here would be great. It's confusing the heck out of me.
Pistols count as a close combat weapon, as described on page 29. This means that the extra attack mentioned on page 42 is the only one you get from the pistol if your model has another ccw.
If your codex for some reason says the pistol gives +1 A, I suppose you could add another, but that would be quite beardy indeed.
--•-My 40K projects-•--
You seem to be under the impression that you get a basic number of attacks equal to the number of CC weapons you have. This is not the case. A standard Assault Marine has 1 attack, THEN you add the plus one for the 2nd weapon giving him a total of 2 attacks (3 on the charge).
OH! Okay. Thanks guys so much for clearing that up. It just seemed really odd. I was ending up with like 3 attacks on normal without charge etc and I couldn't see how it worked. Thanks again!
But the sergeant would get 3 attacks normally, if he has a chain sword etc. Since he is base 2.
Okay. So the sergeant gets 2 attacks normally, and if i give him a power weapon and a bolt pistol he gets 3? which is the same as say a power fist and pistol or chainsword and pistol?
A model with power weapon and pistol or chain sword and pistol or power weapon and chain sword gets the extra attack added to those on his profile (and another one when he charges into close combat).
But models with either of the three special weapons mentioned above do not get the extra attack for an additional one-handed close combat weapon unless it is of the same type (two powerfists, two thunder hammers, two lightning claws...) - unless that is the case models with these weapons get only the number of attacks on their profile and an additional one on the charge, regardless of whether they carry a bolt pistol or chain sword or anything else with them.
Hope that helps.
Yes very much so. Thanks so much for all your help guys. Now i am on the right track.