Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
valkyrie scout rules and turbo boosting
If it turbo boosts during its scout move, does it claim a +3 cover save for that turn? not sure if it counts or not.
Fast Skimmers do not turbo boost. They are simply able to move 24" normally, no special rule. Turbo boosting is for bikes and jet bikes only. A Fast Skimmer moving over 12" (flat-out) receives a cover save of 4+, not 3+.
As to the actual question of does a Scouting model get the save during the first turn; who knows. Search it up and you will find lots of unresolved threads arguing about it. In practice, I think RAW says no, but have always taken it and let people take it on the first turn. (Maybe I'm biased since my army is full of heavy flamers anyway.... )
The debate comes from the interpretation if the scout move is a movement phase on it`s own. cause the 4+ came if the skimmer moved flat out in last movement phase. As a RAI the answer is yes as i interpreted it.
in the march FAQ bikes are allowed to do their turboboost. in rulebook turboboost is done in a movement phase so if you like these 2 rules scout move is a movement phase so the skimmers will receive 4+ in first turn.
Last edited by niraco; August 30th, 2009 at 08:07.
Hight elf and Craftworld Eldar army project pics heavy: linky
I would have to come down on the side of RAW says that this is not allowed.
A Scout move is done before any of the turns in the game, so claiming any benefits gained by a turn is not allowed.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
I say yes because it is still moving incredibly fast and therefore is very hard to target.
The Emperor Protects
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
I vote yes too. if scout move turbo boosting works then skimmer flat out should also work.
Last edited by Mad Cat; September 1st, 2009 at 10:29.
Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.
I rule PRO too.
Unfortunately I can only quote the German rulebook, but I will translate as closely as possible:
"a skimmer which is not immobilized and has moved with [whatever you call a speed of more than 12" in English] in its last movement phase counts as being obscured (4+ cover save) if shot at" (page 71, shooting at skimmers)
"this is handled like a movement phase" (page 76, scout move)
Scout move "counts as" movement phase, movement in the previous movement phase (= scout move) is the decisive factor. -> Skimmers that moved more than 12" on their scout move get the cover save.
I'll take "obvious oversights in the 5th edition FAQ" for a thousand alex.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
But then that's the real question:
Oversight... or precedent?
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes