Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If you get two results of Destroyed – Explodes on a vehicle, does only the first matter, or do you assign two wounds to the models inside and roll for the range of two exterior explosions?
Got a rules quote Wicky (or anybody)?
As far as I can tell, there's no note saying that destroyed results don't stack, as there is with crew shaken/stunned results.
I'm not stacking stunned & shaken results... because there's a note about that.
Think I can help you out on this one, Krovin-Rezh.
The "vehicle destroyed" (page 61 main rulebook) result reads that the vehicle is turned into a wreck. The rules for wrecks (page 62 main rulebook) say that the vehicle turns into a piece of terrain. The rules on "vehicle explodes" (page 61 main rulebook) state that the vehicle is removed from the battlefield.
In both cases there is no vehicle left to apply any other damage results onto as soon as you've applied one of the two listed above.
It is as with infantry: you apply the effects of one failed save after the other. If the same group of models fail more saves than they have wounds then the surplus casualties are in vain, as there are no more models to apply them on.
Same for the vehicles: you apply the effects of one damage result after another, and since after both of the above results there is no vehicle left to apply any further damage results onto it cannot possibly explode twice.
(If you roll all effects of all penetrating hits at once and roll "vehicle explodes" twice and "vehicle destroyed" once, then there is one explosion and the vehicle is removed, all surplus effects are lost.)
I'd love that to be the case, but the explosions are at the same initiative from my situation. So the explosions would have to be simultaneous I think. Same thing would happen if a single unit shot and got the two explodes results.
The thing about infantry casualties is that none of them have further effects on the game right before they are removed AFAIK.
If my wording above isn't convincing enough (I feared it wouldn't be) let me put it this way:
how - by whatever means - are you going to legally apply two vehicle explodes results? You just can't, because there is no way to remove one and the same vehicle from play twice.
Since you can't do it twice legally you'll just have to stick with doing it once.
That's how I would put it.
The Damage Results on page 61 have notes on accumulation where it matters and it just so happens that it doesn’t matter when looking at either 5 Destroyed – Wrecked or 6 Destroyed – Explodes.
So you can stack as many of the above results because it doesn’t matter in the game – the vehicle only has one ‘wound’ so to speak so the result can only ever be taken once.
The confusion here seems to revolve around the mention of the accumulation rule on points 1 to 4, which leave the vehicle still in the game and the lack of it on points 5 to 6, which now leave the vehicle out of the game.
You are looking for something that is not necessary for the rule to be understood.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
The two results are simultaneous, and the explosion is always resolved before the vehicle is removed. So I don't think that covers this situation. Both explosions could still be happening at the same time, and then both rules to remove the model would kick in at the same time.