Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I played a battle the other day where I had a squad of crisis suits deepstrike near the table edge to try eliminate an enemy squad holding an objective. Unfortunately, they scattered the wrong way and ended up off the table edge. My question is this: I'm used to using the large blast template for deepstriking, placing one model in the center and the rest radiating out from it. The center of the template was off the table edge, but there was enough of it remaining on the table to be able to place my squad. So what's the deal? Was it a mishap because the center was off the edge or was it successful because there was enough overlap to place them on the table edge?
For Deep Striking, you should be placing a single model of the unit down, then scattering, then placing and wrapping around that model. If your placement of any models in the deep striking unit would land off the table, then its a Mishap, and you would roll on the mishap table. pg 95; BRB.
You don't use the blast templates for deepstriking. Hasn't been part of the game for awhile now.
Place the first model where you want it, scatter it, then place the other models around it. If you are unable to complete the Deepstrike properly, you roll for Deepstrike Mishap.
This can all be found on page 95 of your 5th Edition Rulebook.
EDIT: Ah! Xpyre beat me to it by mere seconds...
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
You don't use the template. You place the central model and then roll for scatter.
If only a single model cannot be placed according to the rules on page 95 of the main rulebook you have to roll for a mishap.
-> If the central model scatters off the table at least this central model cannot be placed onto the table, thus you suffer a mishap.
Edit: Sorry, simultaneous post with psychioticwyrm.