Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
OK, at the risk of sounding like a newbie...
I don't understand what kill points are. I don't understand how you get them in an army, how your opponent gets them from you... etc.
I just need a basic introduction into what the heck this stuff is.
So KP are a simplified scoring method introduced in 5th edition. The Annihilation mission charges you with the task of scoring as many KP as possible while losing as few as possible – the player with the most KP at the end of the game wins.
The way you get them in an army is simply by adding units to it. Any unit that is TOTALLY destroyed in the game counts as a single KP for the other player. Notice that transports are a separate unit from their passengers, even if they are dedicated to a squad, so they also give up a KP when destroyed. Independent characters are treated in the same way, even if they are joined to a squad. There is a special provision for retinues that makes sure the character and retinue are each worth a KP.
So write down a tally of each KP you and your opponent earn during the course of the game (or simply remember). Then see who scored the highest at the end, and that person wins.
I hope that helps Fizzics. Let us know if you need anything else cleared up.
actually if the transport is dedicated to the squad, you must kill both the squad and the transport to get kill.
There are three kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who cannot.
Afraid not. A dedicated transport (pg 67) is selected with another unit so that it does not take up another slot on the force organization chart. This does not make it part of that unit though.
An easy way to remember what is and isn't a unit is to consider what you would be able to target. Can you target the transport on it's own? Yes, so it is a unit. Can you target a specific model in a squad? No, you have to target the whole squad because it is the unit, not the model.
There is a funny quirk with retinues though. Since you must totally destroy the entire unit, that means a character that has lost his entire retinue but is still himself alive has not given up any KP at all. If he is killed though, both he and his retinue together score the other player 2 KP.
Last edited by Krovin-Rezh; September 12th, 2009 at 06:15.
basically, what Krovin-Rezh said but in a summary
Kill points for the hq
the leader always counts as one and if he comes with a rtinue for free, then they count as part of HIS kill points, not seperate.
For example, the imperial guard company command squad.
You buy the commander and he comes with 4 extra guardsmen for free. This unit counts as
1 kill points, because he can't choose whether to take them or not.
However, if you buy a space marine command like calgar, he has the options for a bodyguard retinue.
So calgar counts as one kill point, while his chosen bodyguard which he bought are an extra kill point.
Also whenever you join a unit on a battlefield, if you character starts alone and joind a squad during the game, ne and the squad count as different kill poiints.
mechanical squads are different
If you kill a imperial guard tank squadron, then the WHOLE squad of tanks count as one kill points.
For example, a squad of 3 leman russes who form a squad. you need to kill all three of them to just get one kill points, NOT one for each leman russ in the squad.
kill points for imperial guard infantry platoon
Each platoon starts of with 3 squads. each squad is a different kill point and their platoon command squad works in the same way as the company command squad.
However if you combine the infantry squads ( you can't combine the platoon command squad with any other squad as they are a squad ) let's say 5 infantry squads, and they start the game as 5 platoon squads stuck together. then it's just ONE kill point, because the squad as merged and started out as a large squad.
i hope you found this useful and not me being overly exaggerative of what you don't know.
To save the trouble of another thread I might as well ask this here.
Units that are falling back to the table edge at end of game count for victory points, is this true for KP as well? Is it different if they cannot regroup? (Under half for example.)
A unit that is falling back at the end of the game counts as a kill point, whether they may have eventually been eligible to regroup or not.
Where does it say that, Affe?
Necron Army Building Maxima: Beware of Phase Out
also for any necron units that are down and haven't ahd the chance to test for all be back rule. they automatically phase out and marines i think automatically rally before the game ends, even when it's not their turn. i think/