Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
When firing the ordance, can you shoot over your own guys and not give the other player cover saves as normal? Lets say i have about 20 guards about 12-15 inches away can i just draw true los from the turret and that be a clear shot? If i dont see any of my troops in the way? Since the turret is higher then the tank.
That depends on actual true line of sight.
If your guardsmen were right in front of your tank then the turret could easily draw a line of sight over their heads. But if they are 12"-15" it depends on where the target is. If the target is 16" away and right in front of your guardsmen they would get a cover save (unless they are on higher ground above the guardsmen). If the target is 70" away they might not get the cover save.
Anything in between is harder to say. Try to apply the "50% obstructed" rule. If the guardsmen squad obstructs 50% or more of the target models from the turret's point of view then give the cover save.
Ordnance shots only grant cover saves if the model would get a cover save looking from the center of where the template lands, or area cover. It doesn't matter if your tank can see the target or not.
Argh, I always mix that one up. Yeah, I meant barrage.
Going to have to agree with Red. The closer the guard are to your own tank, the better chances you'll have of having a clear LoS to a target infantry squad.
If you are firing at another vehicle, I would generally say that guardsmen, even heavily packed will not confer a cover save to another vehicle due to the 50% obscured rules.