Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I just wanted to get some peoples opinions on this. I have a decent Reserves strategy in my army to use against shooting armies situationally. An Astropath says "whilst the Astropath is alive you add +1 to any of your Reserve rolls".
Would any of you make a fuss if that rule was used before the Astropath is on the table, due to Reserves itself? It's very much alive, and the wording doesn't state in play. I feel on solid ground playing it like this but some people get upset over such things.
It depends on what GWs definition of "alive" is.
Best thing to do: ask whoever you are playing if they are OK with it.
I definitely support your opinion on this, my good Prince!
(4th edition was a little different. A model not being on the table because it was in reserves or in a transport was for most concerns treated as though the model didn't exist, but this is very different in 5th. I don't see any reason why the Astropath's ability shouldn't work just because he is himself in reserves.)
There generally seems to be a differentiation between being "alive" and "on the table/in play", so I would think it works even if the Astropath is in reserves. That said to my knowledge there's nowhere in the BRB that defines the terms, so someone who wants to be a jerk can still argue it with you.
I would have to agree, that the Astropath's ability will function.
I use something similiar sometimes with Chief Librarian Tigurius. His ability (Gift of Prescience) is also invoked, when he's part of the army, whether or not he's on the board.
Personally I would not mind to play againts a list where the astropath is in reserve. I think You got to agree with the opponent, as
- the astropath has psychic ability (fluffwise) that gives the opportunity to coordinate the reserves easier, that`s why the +1 but he must present on the area where the reserve will be called. Basicly he works as a special kind of teleport homer. He can communicate with the "ship", or "base of operation" or wherever the reserves come from. Like in the novels...
As I said, I would not mind but not logic.
It's logic even fluffwise...
Thanks for the reply guys, it wasn't a hard argument but I always feel better getting a few thumbs up.
But realy does not matter.
As I said I would not mind.