Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
1) I've seen many times in threads that ceertain models gice cover saves and somehow I doubt it.
For example, bloodcrushers in front of a grinder. You easily see more then 50% of the grinder. The blooder letters on the jugger are to small to even consider and the juggers to low to block half. I see alot of this type going around enough to wonder if we are doing it right in my play gang.
2) If I have lets say a squad of jet bikes between my shooting unit and lets say a marine squad. If I can see between the jetbikes in the same squad I can shoot right? Is it the same iof the jet squad was my own squad?
So if you can see more than 50% of the grinder he doesn't get a cover save [main rulebook, pages 51 and 60].
If it were the jetbike squad itself shooting at the marines and say two of the jetbikes somehow block line of sight to the majority of the target models for another four jetbikes behind them but of their own squad, then the marines wouldn't get a cover save, because models from the squad that's shooting don't count for LoS blocking [main rulebook, page 22].
I hope that answers your questions...
2) Basically what I'm saying is maybe linked to 4th ed rules. When we had a unit to shoot that appeared between 2 things unit or not, you couldn't shout it. One of my friends came up with this when I wanted to shoot his falcon through one of my own unit stating I couldn't shoot it becaue the rules "somewhere" states that I'm scared to hit one of my own so I can't shoot through my unit even if I have a clear shot. My unit is NOT the unit that is firing, it is between the shooters and the falcon.
4th edition also had a rule that you couldn't shoot through ongoing assaults. Close combats blocked line of sight.
Both of these rules have no place in 5th.
You can shoot at the Falcon, but he may get a cover save if the models in between block 50% or more of it...
I can shoot above a close combat now? good to know. Thanks for your responses.
No problem, mate! Helping is what we roam the rules questions forum for, but of course we always appreciate it if someone gives approval to our posts (thumbs-up icon) in return.