Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
It says in the rules for the force weapon, that its ability cannot be used against creatures immune to instant death (Rulebook pg.50) . In the Nid codex it states that all synapse creatures and those in range of synapse are immune to instant death only caused by weapons double their toughness (Nid codex pg.2. But a Carnifex is a MC, and am I right in thinking thats MC cannot be instant killed? (I can't find where it says they cant in the rulebook, pg.51).
So would a GKGM or an =][= weilding a force weapon be able to use the weapons psychic power to kill a Carnifex, as long as the respective models strength is not double that of the Carnifex's? Or is it just the case of it can't be killed in this mannor as its an MC?
According to the Tyranid FAQ, ignore the part about the Strength versus Toughness. This would mean any kind of Instant Death. (Very first Errata entry.)
However, the DH codex has a different wording for their Force Weapons, so its generally accepted that those still work.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
Daemonhunter/Witch Hunter force weapons are the best! They'll pwn synapse creatures, marneus, abaddon, daemons, c'tans and other eternal warriors when regular force weapons fail. Show that tyranid player the meaning of fear by having your GKGM pop out of his LR/LRC for a little carnifex-killing surprise.
Would this be just grey knight force weapons or all force weapons?
Last edited by V3xx; September 30th, 2009 at 18:40.
I believe this is specifically addressed and upheld in the Daemonhunters FAQ.
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.
The Nemesis Force weapons wording is different from the standard force weapon. This is primarily the reason they still 'work' against Eternal Warrior models. My apologies for not having that 'dex with me at the moment.
As I recall, it states something like, "kills the model outright" and does not mention the Instant Death rule. This wording evades the Eternal Warrior protection.
Last edited by jy2; September 30th, 2009 at 19:58.
Yea its like the orc or choas space marine spell what does not kill a monster but replaces it with another model. Avoding instant death immunity.