Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This seems almost like a redundant question, but just wanted to get some opinions/viewpoints on it. As the attacker, can you have a vehicle contest a bastion, without actually ramming it?
To Contest a Bastion, an attacking model of a unit needs to be in base to base contact, or occupy the area if the the Bastion was ruined. In a still (not destroyed) bastion, is it possible to move a rhino into base to base contact with a bastion, without triggering a Ram attack?
I considered doing it in multiple moves, by only moving within 3" up near it, then slowly ramming it. Just the Bastion is quite a bit hardier than the rhino, I'd still not want to take that hit.
The rulebook says that tank shocking is a special kind of movement that has to be declared [page 68]. It further states that ramming is done just like tank shocking [page 69]. So if you don't declare a ram attack you are not ramming anyone and no one takes a ramming hit.
So nothing keeps you from moving into contact with a building without taking a ramming hit, except those bastions count as enemy models (I don't have planetstrike rules, sorry) in which case you could not approach within 1" of it without ramming.
In the latter case you won't get around taking that hit, but you can ram it from less than 3" away and will therefore take a hit that can only glance you at best... Still, it's a risk, yes.