Imperial Guard Force composition - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Imperial Guard Force composition

    Hello Everyone,

    I've only just joined so, forgive me if this is an obvious question about rules. I just finished reading the Imperial Guard Codex, 5th edition and I've got a question. Under the entry for a single company composition it says, 'one command squad, 2-5 infantry squads, 0-5 heavy weapons squads, 0-2 special weapons squads, 0-1 conscript squad.

    My question is, does this mean that I can choose all of these options, so five infantry and five heavy squads and two specialist squads, etc?

    Or does it just mean that I've got to have 2 infantry squads and the others are limits for the company?

    Thanks in advance for you response everyone!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    UnderWater Ninja-Tiger .. Xpyre35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    785
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    147 (x3)

    Welcome to LO, Spacenik.

    Short answer: Yes you are correct.

    The company platoon must contain 1 command squad, and at least 2 infantry units. To be considered a legal company platoon.

    You can have upto 3 more infantry, 0-5 heavy weapons squads, 0-2 special weapons squads, 0-1 conscript squad as you see fit.

    Yes they can be VERY large platoons.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Thanks mate, thats exactly what I wanted to hear!

    Now to get a second job to pay for all the models!

  5. #4
    Senior Member Lemt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    1,006
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    104 (x4)

    Be careful, however! I think each of thse will be worth one kill point, even if they only take up one slot in the FOC.
    Necron Army Building Maxima: Beware of Phase Out
    Tervigon Conversion

  6. #5
    Member Bassline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Age
    26
    Posts
    219
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    27 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lemt View Post
    Be careful, however! I think each of thse will be worth one kill point, even if they only take up one slot in the FOC.
    Correct but you can merge them together (well the infantry units at least you can)

  7. #6
    Senior Member omegoku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cork, Ireland
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    216 (x7)

    You can have several units, all of which count as a single troops choice.
    The infantry squads, and ONLY the infantry squads, can merge into one or more blob squads.
    so 5 10s
    2 20s and a 10
    a 30 and a 20
    etc, etc

    And you can get several Chimeras for the platoon too.

    some people have create 1500 list based around 2 platoons and a HQ command squad.
    Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
    I currently play:
    Doom Eagle Space Marines
    Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
    Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
    Tau of O'me
    Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters

    and my attempted foray into fantasy
    'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts