Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
"Fire On my Target" and "Bring It Down" require that the Officer be able to draw line of sight to the intended target. I played an opponent who argued that since the Officer is inside a transport vehicle he can't draw line of sight.
Now, I know that when using Chimera Hardpoints line of sight is taken from the top hatch, but Officers issuing orders don't use hardpoints. So, what's the ruling? Can an Officer issue "Fire On MY Target and Bring It Down" from inside a Chimera? My position is that if a Guardsmen can fire a weapon from the top hatch than an Officer can issue an order.
"The man in the bowler hat is Mr. Average in his anonymity. I, too, wear one; I have no great desire to stand out from the masses." - Rene Magritte
Draw LoS from the hull.
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
Omegoku's suggestion is the way to do it. Reference page 39 of Codex: Imperial Guard. The "Mobile Command Vehicle" special rule explicitly states that an embarked officer can issue orders from inside and that range and line of sight are measured from any point of the vehicle's hull.