Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So 1 in 3 jetbikes can have a cannon upgrade. When adding a character to that squad (warlock for example) Im assuming that the char CANNOT ride the upgraded jet bike. I can see this either way. Though it would certainly be nice to have the better BS on the cannons.
My real reason for even asking is I have 12 jetbikes (been playing since 1st edition) and most have cannons, as in previous editions character's could upgrade. And since GW no longer sells their 'bits as they used to, I can't order the reg catapults.
The IC joins the jetbike unit at the start of the game (either when you deploy them or when they go into reserve). Since the IC is not a part of the unit until then, and not a part of the same entry in the codex, he may not take the cannon and cannot count as one of the models for that "1-in-3" rule.
--•-My 40K projects-•--
That's what I figured. It makes sense that a specific trooper would be trained on using the cannon from a jetbike. Just hoping to utilize my extra cannon bike models.
I mostly played 2nd edition, some 3rd and no 4th at all. So Im still getting used to the 'no super characters' rules (which I like very much)
As Krovin pointed out, Indepdent Characters definitely can't buy the shuricannon upgrade, as they're not part of the same unit. More to your question though, neither can a Warlock be upgraded, as the entry specifically says a "guardian jetbike" .