Cover saves against Markerlights - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member SHREDHED's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    69 (x1)

    Cover saves against Markerlights

    Hi.

    I dont know if this topic has been covered before, but i'll ask the question anyway.

    In our small gaming group of 5 members, a recent argument has arisen about whether a unit can take cover saves AGAINST Markerlight hits?

    Obviously, the Tau player insists that you cant, whilst the rest of us insist that we can. After all. it is theoretically possible to dodge a beam of light by ducking your head down behind a wall or piece of masonry.

    There is nothing in the rulebook or the Tau codex or any errata articles that says that you can or cant so could someone please clarify.

    I think this is a case of RAI rather than RAW.

    Thanks.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    A markerlight does not inflict any wounds, so you can't use a cover save against it.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  4. #3
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,094
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    105 (x6)

    i am 100% sure that you can stack marker lights and one of them is -1 to your cover save. eventually you will reach +6 cover save and another marker light to another -1 to that means no cover saves. so yes, tau markerlights can ignore them if you use enough of them ^^.
    thanks
    antique_nova
    Superior stamina may win battles, but the ability to quickly recover wins wars.

  5. #4
    Member Bassline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Age
    26
    Posts
    219
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    27 (x1)

    You can only take saves on things that cause wounds.

    Marker lights / powers that turn you into squigs or choas blobs you can not take saves on.

  6. #5
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    P.19 BRB under "Roll to wound":
    To decide if a hit causes a telling wound, compare the weapon's Strength characteristic with the target's Toughness characteristic"
    This cannot be done. Markerlights have no Strength value, therefore cannot possibly cause wounds since the required comparison between Strength and Toughness cannot be made.

    Armour saves, Invulnerable saves and Cover saves are all options open to the player whose target model has been wounded. If no wounds are caused, then no save of any sort is attempted since there is no reason to do so.

    A cover save may be taken by a wounded model when the Armour Piercing value of the weapon is sufficient to ignore the Armour Saving throw of the target model, dependent of course on the rules for gaining a cover save being fulfilled. Since Markerlights do not have an AP, there is no need for a cover save, so the target model would use its normal armour save. But this save is only used when a wound has been caused, and since Markerlights cannot cause wounds, no save of any sort needs to be attempted.

    Basically the Tau player is right.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  7. #6
    Scourge Lord Krovin-Rezh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    1,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    204 (x6)

    You take cover saves against other weapons that use the markerlight hits (seeker missiles, pulse rifles, rail guns), not the markerlights themselves. Although that cover can be reduced by the Tau player as antique_nova has pointed out.

    I see it being this way on purpose, since the Tau player is effectively using markerlights as round-about way of getting BS4 most of the time (sometimes BS5). Most other armies already get that benefit, while other compensate by having far more shots or being better in close combat instead. The benefit for the Tau is that they can choose the other abilities of the markerlight instead, should the need arise.
    Last edited by Krovin-Rezh; November 1st, 2009 at 21:05.

    --•-My 40K projects-•--

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts