Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm about to go against my first IG army which contains quite a few heavy weapons teams. The cannon on wheels type. Do these pivot freely without being counted as moved?
I'm asking because it seems to me that we are far from the skirmish squad lets say like a marine devestator squad which can fire 360. We are talking about a cannon on the ground. Wouldn't make sense. Pivoting does take as much time as moving the thing.
I can't find anything about this.
As far as I'm aware heavey weapons tems have a 360 degree firing arc, just like your average model.
But if I'm wrong and they only have a 90/180 degree arc and they would have to pivot to fire at something outside of the arc, then pivoting would count as moving, as it counts as moving for transport vehicles. But I'm confident they fire just like a normaly model.
Although it isn't logical since pivoting this is a hard as moving it 1". Who said GW was ever logical lolol
Thanks for the answer.
All infantry have 360 don't they? Oh and yes, never try to bring sense and reason into the rules of 40k.
I hear and I forget, I see and I remember, I do and I understand
Success is the ability to go from failure to failure without losing your enthusiasm.
Well pivoting does count as moving. It just doesn't count in the length of the move so obviousely doesn't affect vehicles. Pretty sure a pivoting transport can't have it's heavy weapon team fire which is something that never happens except for embarking and disembarking purposes. Infantry is skirmish so this doesn't affect them either. Only thing left are platforms. Eldar have grav platforms so you could assume it's easy to pivot them but IG are not floating. Like I said earlier, move 1" or pivot should be the same thing. It's moving. I guess it's one of those exceptions that GW didn't think of.
Thanks all as always.
This does not override the fact that the vehicle counts as being stationary. The difference being that claiming contradictory wording, while it may be slightly synonymous with your meaning, may confuse someone.
A vehicle pivoted in place then freshly embarked, counts as being stationary. It may not move further, in the same manner that one may not move a unit, move a different unit, then move the original unit again.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes